Scott Geesey, Dan Zechman and Jeff Haag Win Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Features

Mechanicsburg, PA, May 10, 2015

Dominating is the proper word describing Scott Geesey’s performance in the first two weeks of Williams Grove Speedway’s Saturday Night Series Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman shows.  The driver from Wellsville roared to the feature win on opening night. This week he returns and scores an easy victory.

Rich Eichelberger and Bobby Hockenberry paced the 25-car Super Sportsman field the opening circuit of their 20-lap main event.  Scott Geesey, the sixth-place starter, was in third followed by Jay Fannasy and Mike Enders. 

Following a second-lap restart, Rich Eichelberger gained a six-length advantage.  Bobby Hockenberry, Scott Geesey and Jay Fannasy were in a close battle for second. In the seventh lap Geesey used slower traffic to wrestle second from Hockenberry. 

At the race’s midway point leader Rich Eichelberger encountered heavy traffic allowing Scott Geesey to narrow the gap to two lengths.  Two laps later Geesey went to the outside line in turns one and two to sweep by Eichelberger. 

The second caution of the race came with five laps remaining.  On the restart Rich Eichelberger’s second-place run came to an end when his car drifted to a stop in the fourth turn.  After the restart Scott Geesey gained a comfortable lead.  He won his 12th career Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series Super Sportsman feature by a straightaway over Bobby Hockenberry, Jay Fannasy, Mike Enders, and Doug Dodson. Geesey’s victory places him second on the Saturday Night Series all-time feature winnner’s list.

Chad Criswell, Hockenberry and Geesey won the preliminary races for the 25 entries.  Justin Foster received the Sprint Aces Hard Charger award.

Dan Zechman and Sam Gallagher started on the front row of the 20-lap Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Model feature.  Gallagher won the sprint into the first turn and led the first two laps with Zechman, Dave Lathsa, Sam Rial, and Al Cheney in pursuit.

The first of two cautions came at the completion of the second circuit.  The duo of Gallagher and Zechman had an intense fight for the lead with both drivers taking the outside line.  On the sixth lap Gallagher tried the lower line.  One lap later Gallagher went to the bottom and Zechman made his successful pass on the outside.

The second and final caution came on lap 11.  Through the final eight laps Dan Zechman and Sam Gallagher had a close competition for first while Sam Rial, Scott Richwine, Dave Latsha, and Billy Wampler were racing hard for third.

With two laps remaining Gallagher pulled even with Zechman on the back stretch.  In turn four both cars slid sideways and the drivers gathered their machines.  Dan Zechman exited the turn with a two-car length edge and held the advantage to the finish line.  The Hanover driver won his second career Saturday Night Series feature ahead of Sam Gallagher, Sam Rial, Scott Richwine, and Billy Wampler.

Qualifying events for the 25-car field went to Wampler, Richwine and Rial.  Shaun Jones won the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

Jeff Haag, the opening night feature winner, started on the pole in the 15-lap Aquafun Pools Street Stock main event.  Haag led with Craig Morgan, Jason Geesaman, Doug Hoffman, and Kevin Sigler trailing. Geesaman advanced into second on the second lap.

The driver on the move was Mike Walls.  The former Late Model driver started in 10th and rapidly progressed into third.  Jeff Haag, Jason Geesaman and Mike Walls had an intense fight for the lead and several lengths to the rears was the pack of Craig Morgan, Doug Hoffman, Mike Buckley, Kevin Sigler, and Randy Zechman.

Haag and Geesaman were using the outside lane with Walls working the bottom.  Walls edged his car ahead of Geesaman and pulled even with Haag.  For three laps Walls would gain a slight lead in the turns but Haag had the momentum onto the straights.  With three-laps remaining Walls’ car slipped in turn two allowing Geesaman to regain second. 

Jeff Haag and Jason Geesaman raced within a car length through the final two circuits.  Mike Walls caught the lead duo on the final pass of the oval.  Jeff Hagg, from Mechanicsburg, won the thrilling race by a length over Jason Geeseman while Mike Walls was a length back in third. Craig Morgan was fourth and Doug Hoffman finished in fifth.  Haag’s victory is his ninth with the Saturday Night Series tying him for fourth on the Street Stock all-time winner’s list.

Morgan and Haag won the heats for the 24 entries.  Mike Walls received the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

The Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series will not be in action next week.  The series returns to the famed half-mile oval in two weeks featuring the Bill Heckert Memorial championship for the Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman.  Joining the Super Sportsman will be the Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Models and Aquafun Pools Street Stocks.  Racing begins at 7 PM.  Adult admission remains at six dollars and children 12 and under are free.

Super Sportsman results:

1. Scott Geesey, 2. Bobby Hockenberry, 3. Jay Fannasy, 4. Mike Enders, 5. Doug Dodson, 6. Chad Criswell, 7. Scott Dellinger, 8. Frankie Herr, 9. Russ Mitten, 10. Chad Smith, 11. Tom Wyckoff, 12. Timmie Barrick, 13. Todd Leonard, 14. Bill Devine, 15. Justin Foster, 16. Teddy Thomas, 17. Jared Miller, 18. Rich Eichelberger, 19. Adam Wray, 20. Steve Fannasy, 21. Paul Miller, 22. Steve Wilbur, 23. Troy Rhome, 24. Lanny Hake, 25. Kenny Edkins

358 Late Model results:

1. Dan Zechman, 2. Sam Gallagher, 3. Sam Rial. 4. Scott Richwine, 5. Billy Wampler, 6. Dave Latsha, 7. Al Cheney, 8. Brad Shank, 9. Cam Zeigler, 10. Gene Knaub, 11. Jake Jones, 12. Kyle Lear, 13. Wes Alleman, 14. Travis Mease, 15. Ron Kline, 16. Shaun Jones, 17. Daulton Bigler, 18. Larry Neiderer, 19. Chaz Walls, 20. Bobby Beard, 21. Alan Sagi, 22. Rodney Walls, 23. Pat Beard, 24. Keith Walls, DNS: Pat McNeal

Street Stock results:

1. Jeff Haag, 2. Jason Geesaman, 3. Mike Walls, 4. Craig Morgan, 5. Doug Hoffman, 6. Mike Buckley, 7. Kevin Sigler, 8. Randy Zechman, 9. Steven Dove, 10. Walt Lemmon, 11. Greg Diehl, 12. Eric Tripp, 13. Ed Halter, 14. Dalton Frye, 15. Cory Phillips, 16. Scott Strickler, 17. Dave Goode, 18. Dustin Hollinger, 19. Dave Bowermaster, 20. Calvin Readdin, DNS:  Bob Scott, Brett Picket, Ryan Smith, DNQ: Sean Dawson