Path Valley results 9/15

Discuss Miscellaneous Fendered Car Racing
Post Reply
Pit Member
Pit Member
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:28 pm

Path Valley results 9/15

Post by racinrob » Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:13 pm

Barrick wins feature and championship

Saturday night was the final point race for the Micro Sprints at Path Valley in 2012. The 600cc championship was already clinched, but the 270cc championship was still in doubt.

Adam Warner closed out what has been a frustrating 2012 on a high note by leading all twenty laps of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature to get the win. Brian Marriott ran second the entire event, but was unable to mount a challenge for the lead during the non-stop race. The top two in points entering the night finished third and fourth. Colby Dice finished third, but Levi Peck’s fourth place finish was enough to earn him the 2012 point championship. Ben Houtz completed the top five. Mike Boyer and Dice were the heat race winners.

In the Mini Stock feature it was a 20-lap duel for the lead between Chris Anderson and Dave Friedrich. The two drivers swapped the lead twice in the first three laps. Friedrich had the quicker car, but Anderson held the bottom groove and Friedrich could not find the combination to complete the pass, giving Anderson his first official win in the Mini Stock class. Third thru fifth went to Barry Welch, Dylan Wilson, and Jodie Varner. The heat race win went to Welch.

The last time the Classic Racing Series visited Path Valley Brandon Little didn’t take the lead until the final turn. This time Little started first and led all twenty laps for the win. Kurt Welsh stayed right behind Little the first ten laps, but started to fall back over the second half, finishing five car lengths behind. Jim Crocker avoided a lap three incident which collected seven of the twelve-car field and held off Bill Brown Sr. over the closing laps to finish third while Steve Cantwell came home fifth. Little and Welsh won the heat races.

Timmie Barrick had clinched the championship for the 600cc Micro Sprints before the race started, but he put the exclamation point on his championship season by starting first and leading the non-stop event flag-to-flag for the win. Tyler Walton made a strong move on the start, going from sixth to second on the first lap. At one point Walton got to within two car lengths as the leaders were putting other drivers a lap down. But Barrick quickly stretched the lead back out to six car lengths and was never challenged after that. After the race Walton was disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct in the pit area. That gave second place to Chandler Leiby and third thru fifth was Stan Fleming, Travis Scott, and Rich Glosser. The heat race wins went to Walton and Leiby.

Ray Middaugh led all twenty laps of the 4-Cylinder feature for the win and further solidifies his hold on the point lead. Middaugh only made one mistake, but it almost cost him the race. Middaugh went high thru the final two turns, allowing Kyle Martin to make a charge to the inside, getting up to Middaugh’s door as they crossed the finish line. Jeremy Moore finished third. Middaugh also won the heat.

Corey Wagner passed Doug Guise on lap fourteen and led the final six laps to win the 6-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature. Aaron Frehn finished third. Guise has a commanding lead in the point chase in only his first year of racing. The heat race was won by Guise.

The 4-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature was a wild affair with five of the thirteen drivers being disqualified for intentional contact. Justin Williamson took the lead from Nathan Woolley on lap four and led the rest of the way. Williamson was driving in his fourth different car this year and has clinched the point championship. Woolley held on to second, ahead of Gary Guise, Jarred Rudy, and Charlie Stallman. Heat race wins went to Stallman and Williamson.

Path Valley results 9/15

270cc Micro Sprint: 1.Adam Warner (Enola, PA), 2.Brian Marriott, 3.Colby Dice, 4.Levi Peck, 5.Ben Houtz, 6.Greg Robinson, 7.Don Roush, 8.Eric Forsythe, 9.Cody Hackenberry, 10.Mike Boyer DNS: Daryl Beakler, Brent Bull, Rob Best, Mike Sherman, Bob Brubaker, Jerry Palm
Lap Leaders: Adam Warner (1-20)
Heats: Mike Boyer, Colby Dice

Mini Stock: 1.Chris Anderson (Rockhill, PA), 2.Dave Friedrich, 3.Barry Welch, 4.Dylan Wilson, 5.Jodie Varner
Lap Leaders: Chris Anderson (1, 3-20), Dave Friedrich (2)
Heat: Barry Welch

Classic Racing Series: 1.Brandon Little (Carlisle, PA), 2.Kurt Welsh, 3.Jim Crocker, 4.Bill Brown Sr., 5.Steve Cantwell, 6.Charlie Summers, 7-12 unavailable at this time
Lap Leaders: Brandon Little (1-20)
Heats: Brandon Little, Kurt Welsh

600cc Micro Sprint: 1.Timmie Barrick (Walnut Bottom, PA), 2.Chandler Leiby, 3.Stan Fleming, 4.Travis Scott, 5.Rich Glosser, 6.Shannon Fisher, 7.Tom Schearer, 8.Alex Potosky, 9.Gunnar Layton, 10.Troy Rhone, 11.Mike Rynard, 12.Adam Nicholson, 13.Franklin Heinzmann, 14.Eddie Guevara, 15.Bruce Garner, 16.Jim Turner, 17.Nick Wood DQ: Tyler Walton DNS: Devin Beidel
Lap Leaders: Timmie Barrick (1-20)
Heats: Tyler Walton, Chandler Leiby

4-Cylinder Thunder Car: 1.Raymond Middaugh (Rockhill, PA), 2.Kyle Martin, 3.Jeremy Moore DNS: Curtis Guyer
Lap Leaders: Raymond Middaugh (1-20)
Heat: Raymond Middaugh

6-Cylinder Strictly Stock: 1.Cory Wagner (Path Valley, PA), 2.Doug Guise, 3.Aaron Frehn
Lap Leaders: Doug Guise (1-13), Cory Wagner (14-20)
Heat: Doug Guise

4-Cylinder Strictly Stock: 1.Justin Williamson (Orbisonia, PA), 2.Nathan Woolley, 3.Gary Guise, 4.Jarred Rudy, 5.Charlie Stallman, 6.Greg Scott, 7.Eric Boozel DQ: Garret Watkins, Ernie Bowser, Andrew Pluta, Dustin Drake, Willie Copenhaver DNS: Gary Watkins

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests