Path Valley 7/11 Richard Bonebrake Memorial

Discuss Miscellaneous Fendered Car Racing
Post Reply
Pit Member
Pit Member
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:28 pm

Path Valley 7/11 Richard Bonebrake Memorial

Post by racinrob » Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:02 pm

Fries wins Bonebrake Memorial at Path Valley

Twenty drivers made the trip to enter the Richard Bonebrake Memorial for Late Models, this year held at Path Valley Speedway. It was also a sanctioned event by the Steel Block Bandit series.

The Super Stock feature was the first event of the night. Bill Powell jumped out to a large lead early on only to have it negated by the yellow flag waving for Shyann Bard's engine failure just past halfway. That put Alex Boozel on Powell's back bumper for the restart, but that is as close as Boozel could get. Boozel would close in on corner entry, but Powell would pull back away as they exited each turn with the end result being Powell taking the win by two car lengths. Third went to Shawn Shoemaker, fourth Curt Dunn, and Troy Eckenrode was fifth. Powell also won the heat race.

Jeremy Ott returned to action after missing a few weeks and was in control of the Mini Stock field all night. Ott won the heat race and then led all twenty laps to win the feature. Barry Welch finished second followed by Justin Bucher, Lyle Barnes, and Brian Neff.

The Richard (Boney) Bonebrake Memorial race for Late Models has been held at Hagerstown Speedway in the past, but was moved to Path Valley Speedway for 2014. Brian Lessley started first in the twenty-car field and set the early pace. While Lessley and most other drivers were working the low groove, Andy Fries moved to the high groove and he found it to his liking. Fries began to work his way forward and eventually drove around Lessley and into the lead on lap nine. Several cautions kept the field close together and a change in the restart procedure led to some confused drivers which then created some chaos on the track. Fries had the answer on every restart, pulling away from the field and leading the final twenty-two laps of the thirty lap event to claim the checkers. Cole Amsden posted a solid second place finish while Dominic Defino charged late to come home third. Sean Merkel won the Hard Charger award with his fourth place finish and Lessley was fifth. Heat races were won by Denny Bonebrake, Fries, Lessley, and Wes Bonebrake.

Kyle Martin led all twenty laps to win the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature. D. J. Keefer, driving Tony Hampton's car, got beside Martin with two laps to go, but could not pull off the pass and settled for second. Travis Heckman drove Charlie Stallman's car, finishing third in the feature after winning the heat race.

Heath Leonard scored his first win in 2014 in the Strictly Stock feature beating Rayshawna Hardy, Matt Sowers, and Amanda Robinson. Leonard also won the heat race.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests