Mo Vaughn Transport BOSS Set to Launch Historic Season

Discuss all of the dirt sanctioning touring divisions
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:07 pm

Mo Vaughn Transport BOSS Set to Launch Historic Season

Post by nowingsjeff » Thu May 07, 2015 9:44 pm

Mo Vaughn Transport BOSS Set to Launch Historic Season

This Saturday night, May 9th will be "Mascot Night" at the historic Fremont Speedway in Fremont, Ohio and it will also kick off a historic 2015 campaign by the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series. Many big changes will become immediately evident to the racers and fans, and none of the changes could be more significant than the new title sponsor. In the off season, BOSS was able to sign former major league baseball star, Mo Vaughn and his Mo Vaughn Transport out of Cleveland, Ohio. A first round draft pick in 1989, Vaughn spent 13 years in the majors, most of which with the Boston Red Sox where he was a 3 time All Star and the 1995 American League MVP. Vaughn has a serious interest in performance autos, but his involvement with BOSS is his first experience in the auto racing world.

More significant changes were made in the off season with two major announcements involving drivers minimum ages and random drug testing. With many other organizations worried about tethers and finding ways to make teams spend more money, BOSS chose to address the real issues in the sport. The last two times sprint car racing appeared on headline news across the country, it involved fatal accidents with these 2 issues at the center of the controversy. In light of this, the Mo Vaughn Transport BOSS sprints now require all drivers to be a minimum of 16 years of age and all drivers must posses a valid drivers license. In addition, the series will become the first sprint car sanctioning body to implement random drug testing.

Other major changes fans can expect include a new series souvenir trailer with an expanded apparel lineup along with shirts from the tour drivers themselves. BOSS has quickly become known for bringing back racing history and this years throwback is the return of program scorecards which were once available at all racing events throughout the last century. The new scorecards will feature series information, a chance to win random prize drawings, and a contest where you can impress your friends and win $25.00 if you can pick the top 3 finishers in order! Scorecards will be available for $1 at the Mo Vaughn Transport kiosk and at the souvenir trailer.

Also new for 2015, BOSS will have 4 sprint car racing simulators on the midway next to the souvenir trailer. Fans will be able to climb inside the frame and body of retired race cars and test their skills against other fans. For $5, you will get two (8) Lap races where you can race your friends and the clock! If you want to be a sprint car driver, you can try your hand this way for a cheap price.

With all the new announcements, BOSS is determined not to lose sight of what built the series. There are still no membership fees and the series is still an "open tire" series where teams can run any commercially available racing tire. There is no weight rule and cars are only limited to remaining traditional "sprint car" appearing machines. Heat race money and many bonus awards are still in place. There are now 8 different bonus awards. New this year is the perseverance award which will be $50 to the driver who draws the worst heat race starting pill and still transfers to the main event and the new Design 500 McClure tribute award where the 9th place finisher at each event will receive a gift certificate from Design 500. With the lack of a large rulebook and no fees, the Mo Vaughn Transport BOSS sprints lay claim to being the last true "outlaws" of the sprint car world.

The "Magic Man" Mike Miller from Wapakoneta, Ohio is the returning champion set to defend his crown. The inaugural series champion, Dustin Smith from Russiaville, Indiana is returning as he and Miller will look to become the first repeat tour champions. Michael Fischesser, Brandon Spithaler, Chuck Wilson, Aaron Middaugh, Chad Wilson, Bob McMillin, Joe Butera, Joe Liguori, Scott Hardman, Andy Fike and Steve Little will all return from last year to once again be regular stars on the tour. However, Kirk Jeffries and Andre Layfield will also return to the tour after a year's absence along with other newcomers in Kent Wolters, Kris Davis, Josh Turner, Cody Gardner, Justin Owen and George Willard.

Be a part of the fastest growing sprint car series in the nation and join us for the 2015 kickoff event at Fremont Speedway this Saturday night. Watch "Bucky" the BOSS Beaver as he will be on hand to race other Fremont area mascots at intermission. General admission is only $14 with Seniors $12. Kids 11-16 are $8 and kid 10 and under are free. Pit Passes will be $30. Gates will open at 4 pm with racing at 7 pm. More information on the series can be found at and more information of Fremont Speedway can be found at Also, CDL drivers need to check out MVT at

MVT/BOSS Complete A-Main payout for 2015: 1) $1500 2) $900 3) $700 4)$600 5) $500 6) $450 7) $400 8) $375 9) $350 10) $325 11) $300 12) $290 13)$280 14) $270 15) $260 16)-22) $250 to start

Heat Race Payouts: 1) 40 2) 30 3)20 4)10 (Heat Race Sponsors: Moose Racing, Lias Tire, Hoosier Race Tire, Buckeye Machine & Fab, and FAST Signs

Bonus Awards: $50 each - The Bridge Restaurant "Hard Charger", the Hochstetler Trucking "Highest Finishing Steel Block", the Lynn Cook "Hard Luck Award", the A Plus Transmission "Perseverance Award", the Apple Metal Polishing "Lucky Pill Draw" and of course free tires to the highest finishers on all four American Racers and Hoosier Tires. Gift Certificate to Design 500 - 9th place finisher.

Additional sponsors include: Kistler Engines, Indy Race Parts, Cowen Truck Lines, Rod End Supply, DMI, Southeast Harley Davidson, S & H Nerfs, Precise Racing, and TI22.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests