Meseraull Dominates Doubleheader Weekend

Discuss all of the dirt sanctioning touring divisions
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:07 pm

Meseraull Dominates Doubleheader Weekend

Post by nowingsjeff » Fri Jun 12, 2015 7:56 pm

Perhaps the most legendary weekend of Mo Vaughn Transport / BOSS racing to date, was conducted this past weekend at two historic facilities. The tour made its first ever stop at the Limaland Motorsports Park on Friday night and then traveled on to Lawrenceburg Speedway, just across the Indiana boarder for Saturday's show. Although there was excellent racing throughout the pack both nights, one thing was very clear. Thomas Meseraull from San Jose, California, absolutely dominated the weekend aboard the Todd Keen owned #18.

A fine field of 43 cars signed in for battle at Limaland Friday night where 5 heats were run with Brandon Spithaler, Mike Miller, Meseraull, Kody Swanson and Kyle Simon claiming prelim victories. The twin B-Main events were won by Cody Gardner and Dustin Ingle. By virtue of the redraw, Meseraull would start from the 8th position in the 24 car field with fellow Californian, Kody Swanson rolling off 10th.

Leading the field to green were Cooper Clouse and Joe Liguori, with Clouse jumping out to the quick early lead. The race's first caution flew on lap 2 when Brandon Spithaler had mechanical issues and spun in turn 4 collecting Gary Taylor.

On the restart, Clouse, the 2014 National Non Wing Rookie of the Year, looped it in turn 2 as the track began to slick off. This turned the lead over to Joe Liguori who would lead the next 5 circuits as a 3 way battle set itself up at the front between Liguori, Dallas Hewitt and Meseraull. Hewitt wrestled the lead from Liguori to officially lead laps 7 and 8, but the charging Meseraull swept past Hewitt in turn 2 and went on to lead the final 16 circuits. T-Mez held off a fast closing Swanson with Liguori, Dustin Smith and Mike Miller rounding out the top 5.

The following night at Lawrenceburg Speedway, only 27 cars were on hand, but the slim field meant no less action as the fans saw 4 hotly contested heats with Swanson, Garrett Abrams, Meseraull and Michael Fischesser picking up the wins. Aaron Middaugh held on for the B-Main win over a determined Shawn Westerfeld who had missed his heat, started last in the B-Main and put on a driving clinic to transfer to the main event.

Once again, the redraw found Meseraull starting from the 8th position while Drew Abel and Michael Fischesser brought the field to starter Tim Montgomery's green flag. Abel took command early, leading the first 3 circuits. However, Meseraull's domination of the weekend was so complete, he needed only until lap #4 to take command.

The race's only caution flew on lap 7 when the 6th place car of Brandon Spithaler spun to a stop off turn #4 after contact with another car. The restart saw Meseraull on the point followed by Abel, Swanson, Abrams and Fischesser completing the top 5. Once back under green, Meseraull motored away leaving Abrams and Swanson to battle for the runner-up spot. The final 18 laps ran caution free with Meseraull winning by 4.396 seconds over Abrams, Swanson, Joss Moffatt and Mike Miller.

With his consistency, Mike Miller is now the current BOSS points leader over Dustin Smith, Cooper Clouse, Shawn Westerfeld, and Aaron Middaugh. The series now moves on to a first time ever doubleheader at two new venues. It will be another historic weekend as Legendary Hilltop Speedway in Marietta, Ohio will see it's first non wing sprint car race in nearly 40 years on Friday, June 19th. One night later, the state of West Virginia will be christened by BOSS when the tour invades the Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne. This will be the first time the Mountaineer state has seen traditional sprint cars since International Raceway Park in Ona, West Virginia hosted a USAC race on the pavement in 1969.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests