Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series invade Portsmouth Raceway Park

Discuss all of the dirt sanctioning touring divisions
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:07 pm

Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series invade Portsmouth Raceway Park

Post by nowingsjeff » Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:31 pm

This Saturday, July 23rd the Rick's trucks & Equipment / Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series will make history as they will invade Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, Ohio for the first time ever. The fast PRP 3/8 mile oval is located right alongside the Ohio River and has not hosted a sprint car event since a winged race in 2005. In recent years, the track has been the home of the prestigious Dirt Track World Championship for late models paying $100,000 to the winner. First opened in September of 1990, the track did host a pair of USAC wingless sprint events in its early years. Cary Faas won the 1994 event and Mark Cassella won the race in 1995. Saturday will mark the 3rd wingless event in history at PRP.

The 2016 season has reached the halfway point for the BOSS drivers. The first eleven scheduled races saw two rainouts, with the other 9 events being won by 7 different drivers. The only repeat winners thus far have been Cooper Clouse of Ohio City, Ohio and Kody Swanson of Kingsburg, California. Defending tour champion, Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford, Indiana, has scored one victory but his consistency week in and week out has found him with the largest ever points lead in tour history at the halfway mark.

After picking up his first career sprint car win with BOSS, Justin Owen of Harrison, Ohio is now in the runner-up spot in the current standings. Two time winner Cooper Clouse is in the #3 spot with Chad Wilson and Michael Fischesser in a torrid battle for the 4th spot. Rounding out the current top 10 are Aaron Middaugh, Andy Feil, Steve Little, Stratton Briggs and Cody Gardner. The rest of the top 15 includes Mike Miller, Joe Butera, Bob McMillin, Brandon Spithaler and Bobby Distel.

In addition to the current top 15, several other teams have indicated their intention to compete in this historic event. Rick Holley formerly of Nelsonville, Ohio now resides in Pennsylvania. Holley won the first heat race at the grand opening event in 1990 at Portsmouth and he has announced he will return to compete with BOSS. In addition, former USAC racer Greg Staab who competed in the 1994 and 1995 events will field a car driven by Tampa, Florida native Joe Liguori. Liguori is the grandson of Indy and NASCAR veteran Ralph Liguori.

Also indicating his intention to compete is the tour's only other two time winner this season, Kody Swanson from Kingsburg, California. Swanson has missed several events due to his commitment to the USAC Championship Car division of which he is the two time and defending titlist. Swanson will be piloting the Kent Wolters #21K. Ironically, Wolters was a driver in the 1995 USAC event won by Cassella at PRP.

Inaugural BOSS champion Dustin Smith from Russiaville, Indiana also plans to be in attendance. Despite not running all of the events, Smith already picked up a win at Pennsylvania Motor Speedway earlier this month. Chip Pearson has entered his #69 car and named southern Ohio legend Todd Kane as his driver. Some other drivers who began the season chasing points but encountered major car issues are Kirk Jeffries and Riley VanHise and both are hoping to be back on tour this Saturday.

Gates will open at 4 pm on Saturday with the drivers meeting at 6 pm. Hot Laps will begin at 6:30 with racing at 7:30. Pit passes are only $25 and general admission for fans is one of the best bargains of the year! Adult general admission is just $12 while ages 7-12 is $5 and kids 6 and under are free. In addition to the BOSS non wing sprint cars, late models, modifieds and bombers are also on the card!

For teams competing with BOSS, there will be NO METHANOL for sale by the track. Teams are encouraged to bring their own fuel and a few select teams will also have some for sale. Portsmouth uses the yellow Westhold transponders so if you own one, please bring it with you. There are NO MUFFLERS required at this event.

Although this is a one day event, with the extended travel for our teams, a host hotel is in place. The Quality Inn and Suites gives racers a special rate. They can be reached at 740-353-3232.

We thank Portsmouth Raceway Park for choosing BOSS to bring sprint cars back to their facility and we thank the following sponsors for making the tour what it is!

Rick's Truck & Equipment ; Kenton, Ohio (Title Sponsor)

Heat Race Sponsors
Buckeye Machine and Fab ; Forest, Ohio
Lias Tire / American Racer ; Indiana, PA
Hoosier Racing Tire ; Lakeville, IN
Superior Bearing and Supply ; Bradenton, FL
FAST Signs ; Dayton, OH
Southeast Harley Davidson ; Cleveland, OH

Bonus Awards
The Bridge Restaurant ; Sidney, OH (Hard Charger $50)
Apple Metal Polishing ; Eldorodo, OH (Lucky Pill Draw $50)
Hochstetler Truck & Auto Repair ; Ashland, OH (Perseverance Award $50)
J F Construction ; Bucyrus, OH (Hard Luck Award $50)
A Plus Automatic Transmission ; Mansfield, OH (Steel Block Award $50)
McMillin Apiaries ; Wampum, PA (Sweet Move Award $25)
Hoosier Race Tire - Free Tire to highest finisher on all 4 Hoosiers
American Racer Tire - Free Tire to highest finisher on all 4 American Racers

Also a big thank you to Cowen Truck Lines of Perrysville, Ohio for the free water and Gatorade cooler for BOSS drivers and teams!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests