Trevor Kobylarz Scores First BOSS Win at Mercer

Discuss all of the dirt sanctioning touring divisions
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:07 pm

Trevor Kobylarz Scores First BOSS Win at Mercer

Post by nowingsjeff » Sun May 28, 2017 6:49 pm

(Mercer, PA May 27, 2017): Former ARDC Midget driver Trevor Kobylarz scored his career first Sprint Car victory with the Rick's Truck & Equipment Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series at Mercer Raceway Park. The Birdsboro, PA native made a classic slide job in turn one following a restart to take the lead away from Justin Owen, who fought back valiantly but was never able to make a pass back for the win. “It has been about five years since I’ve raced here, since driving a Midget. It’s a fun little place to get around. I had a lot of fun tonight.” Kobylarz thought that his prior Midget experience on the tricky oval did not help all that much. “The sprint cars are a lot different,” he said. Kobylarz was pleased that he was able to get this win in this, his first full season in a traditional Sprint Car. “We’ve done this on and off for the last couple of years, but this is the first time that we have the resources to do the whole B.O.S.S. deal.” Kobylarz and Owen paced the twenty car field to the green for the much anticipated B.O.S.S. tours race. Kirk Jeffires, Dustin Smith, Michael Fischesser, and Carmen Perigo, Jr. occupied the second and third rows. At the start, Kobylarz had the advantage, but Owens swooped by, bringing Jeffires and Smith along. While Owens and Kobylarz diced for the lead, Smith moved into third. Meanwhile, Brandon Spithaler charged into sixth from eighth on the grid. A caution slowed the pace for Smith's uncharacteristic mistake in turn three. He spun on his own while racing in third. On the ensuing restart, Kobylarz made the winning pass on the inside of turn one. Owens stayed close the rest of the way, though, and had several shots at the young Pennsylvania pilot in the final stages of the contest. Kobylars had a slim three car length lead wiped away by a caution on lap fifteen, for a synchronized spin by Dustin Stroup and Cody Gardner in turn four. Neither driver was hurt, but they could not continue in the race. Another caution quickly followed on lap 16, when Matt Cooley came to a halt on the frontstrectch due to a broken shock. Despite that, he did soldier on for a couple more laps before the ill effects took their toll. The racers clicked off five laps before the next stoppage, which may have come at an opportune moment for the leader. Kobylarz was under heavy attack from Owens and Fischesser, as the three leaders had separated themselves from the rest of the pack. Three laps later, Kirk Jeffries struck the second turn wall with great force, bringing out a red flag to check on his medical condition. Fortunately, he was not hurt, but the car did sustain major damage. At the time, Jeffires was racing in the top five. The racers were given an open red to ensure that they would have sufficient fuel to go the distance. The final three laps were run without any interruptions. Kobylarz held his line, while Owen searched high and low for a quicker way around. He couldn't find one, however. Fischesser followed in third. Fourth went to Steve Little, and fifth to Joey Biasi, who came on in the late stages of the race. Gale Ruth, Jr. was the highest finishing local driver, in sixth. He came from deep in the field to garner that spot. Perigo crossed in seventh, followed by Smith coming back from the tail, Spithaler, and Aaron Middaugh. Heat winners were Owens, Perigo, and Kobylarz. The B Main winner was Andy Feil.

Heat Winners:
DRC Chassis Heat 1 - Justin Owen
American Racer/Lias Tire Heat 2 - Trevor Kobylarz
TCB Speed/Hoosier Racing Tire Heat 3 - Carmen Perigo

A-Main (25 Laps)
1. Trevor Kobylarz [1], 2. Justin Owen [2], 3. Michael Fischesser [3], 4. Steve Little [8], 5. Joey Biasi [12], 6. Gale Ruth Jr., [15], 7. Carmen Perigo [5], 8. Dustin Smith [3], 9. Brandon Spithaler [9], 10. Aaron Middaugh [11], 11. Paul Dues [19], 12. Mike Miller [13], 13. Joe Butera [20], 14. Chad Wilson [7], 15. Andy Feil [16], 16. Kirk Jeffries [4], 17. Matt Cooley [10], 18. Dustin Stroup [14] 19. Cody Gardner [18], 20. Jeremy Kornbau [17]

Hard Charger Award - The Bridge Restaurant ; Sidney, OH – Gale Ruth Jr
Hard Luck Award - J.F. Construction ; Bucyrus, OH – Kirk Jeffries
Lucky Pill Draw Award - Apple Metal Polishing ; Eldorodo, OH – Dustin Smith
Perseverance Award - All Pro Cylinder Heads ; Johnstown, OH – Andy Feil
Steel Block Award - Cowen Truck Line ; Perrysville, OH – Carmen Perigo
Sweet Move Award - McMillin Apiaries ; Wampum, PA – Curtis Muhlenkamp

Next Race: Sunday May 28th, Mansfield Motor Speedway, Mansfield, Ohio

Story: Lou Long


Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series
For Media Information, Press Releases and up to date news, email

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests