Path Valley results 6/27

Discuss Miscellaneous Fendered Car Racing
Post Reply
Pit Member
Pit Member
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:28 pm

Path Valley results 6/27

Post by racinrob » Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:06 pm

Snare gets first win at Path Valley

Path Valley Speedway has proven to be a track where "crate" Late Models can compete with "steel block" Late Models. Friday night two "crate" Late Model drivers finished in the top five with one of them in victory lane.

The Super Stock action kicked off the night's activities. Austin Johnson took the lead on lap one closely pursued by Brad McGinnis and Bill Powell. Powell gained control of the second spot and began to look for a way past Johnson. Johnson ran the center groove thru the turns, letting room for Powell to pull to the inside. Powell could draw even in the middle of the turns, and even led lap twelve, but Johnson had enough grip with the higher line to pull back ahead exiting the corners. They went back-and-forth like that nearly every lap with Johnson prevailing at the finish. McGinnis finished third, Shawn Shoemaker fourth, and Curt Dunn fifth. Powell was the heat race winner.

Charlie Stallman led every lap of the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature, but failed technical inspection after the race. That gave Tony Hampton the win, followed by Kyle Martin, Justin Rasp, and Tyler Kirby. The heat win went to Martin.

Tim Snare knew that getting a win running his Late Model with a "crate" engine versus the guys running the higher powered "steel block" or "limited" engines would be tough, and he wasn't sure he could pull it off, but Friday night was his night. Snare started on the front row and beat Todd Snook to the lead on the first lap. That proved to be the winning move as Snare led all twenty-five laps for his first win at Path Valley Speedway. Snook kept it close early on, but the longer it went the further Snare was able to pull away. Snook then had to contend with Josh Berrier for second, but was able to keep the spot till the end. Transtan Stoner, also running a "crate" engine, ran fourth most of the race, losing the spot to Wes Bonebrake with just a few laps to go and finished fifth. Heat race wins went to Bonebrake and Ralph Morgan. Morgan's engine expired just after winning the heat race, ending his night.

The Mini Stock feature started off as a battle between Chris Anderson and Jeremy Ott for the lead, with Anderson leading the way. As they caught the back of the field the two leaders made contact, resulting in a flat right front tire for Ott. Ott returned to the race and stormed back towards the front, but his race was cut short when he got another flat tire just after passing Bill Kennedy for second. Anderson was never threatened after that leading all twenty laps for the win. Lyle Barnes had his strongest run of the year finishing second. Third thru fifth went to Justin Bucher, Dillon Wilson, and Kennedy. Anderson also won the heat race.

In the Strictly Stock feature Justin Williamson led all twenty laps with Rusty Garlock no more than two car lengths behind. On the final lap Williamson slowed slightly for a car he was about to put a lap on and Garlock got a run to the outside as they headed to the checkered flag. Williamson had just enough speed to win the drag race to the line by about three feet. Glen Wilson finished third, followed by Scott Rohr and Heath Leonard. Garlock scored the heat race victory.

Path Valley results 6/27
Super Stock: 1.Austin Johnson (Spring Run, PA), 2.Bill Powell, 3.Brad McGinnis, 4.Shawn Shoemaker, 5.Curt Dunn, 6.Troy Eckenrode, 7.Shyann Bard, 8.Joey Burdge, 9.Alex Boozel, 10.Travis Minium
Lap Leaders: Austin Johnson (1-11, 13-20), Bill Powell (12)
Heat: Bill Powell

4-Cylinder Thunder Car: 1.Tony Hampton (Amberson, PA), 2.Kyle Martin, 3.Justin Rasp, 4.Tyler Kirby DQ: Charlie Stallman
Lap Leaders: Charlie Stallman (1-20)
Heat: Kyle Martin

Late Model: 1.Tim Snare (Huntingdon, PA), 2.Todd Snook, 3.Josh Berrier, 4.Wes Bonebrake, 5.Transtan Stoner, 6.Dave Dunkle, 7.Steve Bailor, 8.Bob Dunn, 9.Eric Irvin, 10.Brad Kling, 11.Dominic Defino, 12.Sean Frey DNS: Ralph Morgan, Justin Ehrhart
Lap Leaders: Tim Snare (1-25)
Heats: Wes Bonebrake, Ralph Morgan

Mini Stock: 1.Chris Anderson (Rockhill, PA), 2.Lyle Barnes, 3.Justin Bucher, 4.Dillon Wilson, 5.Bill Kennedy, 6.Jeremy Ott, 7.Shaun Linn, 8.Barry Welch, 9.Kenny Black DNS: Mark Grove
Lap Leaders: Chris Anderson (1-20)
Heat: Chris Anderson

Strictly Stock: 1.Justin Williamson (Orbisonia, PA), 2.Rusty Garlock, 3.Glen Wilson, 4.Scott Rohr, 5.Heath Leonard, 6.Brian Lefebvre, 7.Rayshawna Hardy
Lap Leaders: Justin Williamson (1-20)
Heat: Rusty Garlock

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests