Californian's Macedo And Kofoid Sweep Williams Grove Open Races

Carson Gets The Cash In National Open, Kofoid Earns First Win In Prelim

Mechanicsburg –Lemoore, California's Carson Macedo held off a hard charging Sheldon Haudenschild to win the 62nd Annual Weis Markets National Open Presented By Sage Fruit at Williams Grove Speedway on Saturday night, pocketing \$75,000 for the prestigious World of Outlaws victory.

And it proved to be an all California day at the oval for the National Open races as Buddy Kofoid of Penngrove, California, scored the 37th running of the preliminary event earlier in the day after being postponed from Friday due to fog.

Anthony Macri and Macedo took the green flag in the 40-lap National Open for sprint cars from the front row but before a lap could be completed, six-time Open champion Donny Schatz stopped with left front shock damage.

Schatz's team would make repairs in the work area but he would only get as high as 12th at the finish.

Macri held sway over Macedo and Chase Dietz when action got going and Macedo immediately began taking swipes for the lead.

However Macri seemed up to the challenge as long as he kept his No. 39M on the high side and he even overcame a pass by Macedo for control on the fourth tour before opening up some distance.

But on lap eight when Macri forsake his high line for the bottom in turns one and tow, Macedo capitalized with a run down the backstretch to net command before entering traffic with 10 laps away.

The red flag appeared on lap 12 for Chase Dietz who would end up making hard contact with the outside turn three rail.

Dietz was running fourth when Haudenschild made a bid for the spot only to nearly spin the car which sent Dietz for a ride after he climbed the rear of Haudenschild's No. 17.

Macri took a look on the low side when action resumed but Macedo would jet away on the cushion.

The field was stopped at the halfway point for refueling.

Haudenschild had taken second from Macri on the 14th tour and lined up behind Macedo for the new green.

James McFadden stole second away from Haudenschild when action resumed and took a swipe at Macedo on lap 22 to no avail.

With 10 laps to go Macedo had a 1.354 second advantage over the field.

But a surging Haudenschild would make it interesting during the final five laps after reclaiming second with six laps to go.

As traffic entered the picture, Haudenschild began biting into Macedo's lead and as the white flag unfurled the challenger was poised to make a run to the checkers.

Haudenschild chewed four-tenths of a second off of Macedo's advantage during the last three laps and after a run down the backchute on the final circuit, Haudenschild blasted his machine onto Macedo's tail as the pair raced back to the line, falling short by just .164 seconds at the finish.

The win was the second of Macedo's career in the National Open having also taken the win for Jason Johnson Racing in 2021.

Brad Sweet, who started 12th in the field, rode home third, followed by McFadden and Macri.

Sixth through 10th went to David Gravel, defending event champion Brent Marks, Justin Peck, 27th starter Bill Balog and Logan Schuchart.

Heats for the 56 car field went to Gravel, Brian Brown, Macedo and Haudenschild.

Kyle Moody won the C Main and Daryn Pittman won the B Main.

Cale Thomas claimed the non-qualifiers race.

Macri earned the feature pole by winning the dash.

Gravel set quick time with a lap of 16.442 seconds.

Heat race action saw leader Daryn Pittman, in a quest for his first Open title after six runner-up finishes to his credit, turn over in the fourth corner after clipping an infield tire.

And earlier preliminary winner Buddy Kofoid saw his hopes dashed after a flip in his qualifier as well.

The 25-lap preliminary feature as won by Kofoid saw the Californian pull off a daring opening lap, first turn move to go three-wide with Gio Scelzi and Chase Dietz for control.

Scelzi would lead the first six laps before Kofoid blasted underneath for control as traffic loomed just ahead.

Dietz followed Kofoid around Scelzi on the same lap before Scelzi went for a wild ride outside of turn four with 11 laps to go.

Both he and Brent Marks were vying for third when a failed move by Marks sent Scelzi up and out over the rail before his car came to rest against the gate to the outside fourth turn access road, near the parking lot.

Another red flag appeared three laps later when TJ Stutts ended up flipping after contact with a challenging Freddie Rahmer.

Kofoid poured on the speed when action restarted, pulling out to a more than five second lead with five laps to go before crossing the line with a margin of 4.042 seconds over Daryn Pittman at the finish.

Dietz settled for third followed by Marks and 15th starter Donny Schatz.

Jacob Allen won the B Main and Dietz earned the pole for the feature by claiming the dash.

Kofoid earned \$12,000 for the first Williams Grove victory of his young career.

Freddie Rahmer wrapped up the 2024 track title at Williams Grove Speedway with his runs in both mains.

The title is the fourth of Rahmer's career at the oval.

Feature Finishes

410 Sprint National Open, 40 laps 1. Carson Macedo, 2. Sheldon Haudenschild, 3. Brad Sweet, 4. James McFadden, 5. Anthony Macri, 6. David Gravel, 7. Brent Marks, 8. Justin Peck, 9. Bill Balog, 10. Logan Schuchart, 11. Tyler Courtney, 12. Donny Schatz, 13. Chase Randall, 14. Danny Dietrich, 15. Skylar Gee, 16. Brock Zearfoss, 17. TJ Stutts, 18. Buddy Kofoid, 19. Kasey Kahne, 20. Brian Brown, 21. Chad Trout, 22. Landon Crawley, 23. Lucas Wolfe, 24. Troy WagamanJr., 25. Gio Scelzi, 26. Daryn Pittman, 27. Chase Dietz, 28. Freddie Rahmer.

410 Sprint National Open Preliminary, 25 laps: 1. Michael Kofoid 2. Daryn Pittman 3. Chase Dietz 4. Brent Marks 5. Donny Schatz 6. Anthony Macri 7. James McFadden 8. David Gravel 9. Brock Zearfoss 10. Justin Peck 11. Justin Whittall 12. Carson Macedo13. Kasey Kahne 14. Sheldon Haudenschild 15.-Logan Schuchart 16. -Danny Sams III 17. Chase Randall 18. Lucas Wolfe 19. Cory Eliason 20. Jacob Allen 21. Conner Morrell 22. TJ Stutts 23. Freddie Rahmer 24. Troy Wagaman Jr 25. Giovanni Scelzi 26. Brad Sweet 27.-Brandon Spithaler 28. Brian Brown