Smith Gives Rahmer First Williams Grove Win As Car Owner, Parker Gets PASS 305s

## 5/23/14 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**Mechanicsburg** – Stevie Smith gave Fred Rahmer his first win as a car owner at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, scoring for the first time in track history for the retired racer turned sprint car owner.

Smith led 24 of 25-laps of the main event to pocket the \$4,000 payday, which was the 26<sup>th</sup> win of his career at the oval.

In the PASS 305 sprint series it was Eric Parker who took the win, holding off Mark Watkins for the victory.

Smith started second in the 410-sprint feature field and took the lead from Gerard McIntyre Jr. on the second lap to gain control.

During the first few laps, sixth starter Lance Dewease made quick moves to the front to be running third as Smith took command.

Dewease got by McIntyre for second on the third circuit and fifth starter Don Kreitz Jr. advanced to third place a lap later.

The pair of Dewease and Kreitz was trying to run down the leader when the races only caution unfurled on the eighth tour for a stopped Brock Zearfoss.

Dewease took a shot at Smith on the restart but Smith led back to the line only to then have Kreitz get by Dewease for position on the 11<sup>th</sup> tour.

Kreitz then began biting into Smith's lead as the race reached the halfway point but as soon as Kreitz showed Smith the bottom lane in the first and second corners Smith then changed lanes to the bottom and that served to protect his lead and win.

Smith was able to easily stay ahead of Kreitz the rest of the distance.

"It's so nice to be able to win races again," Smith said.

"I think this is the best idea Fred's ever came up with," he said of Rahmer's idea to put him in a car for the 2014 season.

"It's just a really good opportunity and I'm just happy to be a part of it."

Rahmer talked about his choice of Smith for a driver.

"Puttin' Stevie in was a no brainer," Rahmer commented.

"I knew there was no other choice."

"I don't miss drivin' at all."

Kreitz rode home second followed by Dewease, Greg Hodnett and Lucas Wolfe.

Sixth through 10<sup>th</sup> went to Alan Krimes, 17<sup>th</sup> starter Danny Dietrich, McIntyre, Doug Esh and Ryan Wilson

Heats for the 24 cars in action went to Glenndon Forsythe, Dietrich and Austin Hogue.

Fast time was set by Wolfe with a lap of 17.236 seconds.

Eric Parker withstood several restarts to record his first ever Williams Grove 305 sprint victory.

He was challenged by both Mike Wagner II., and Mark Watkins for the checkers.

Watkins got alongside Parker for the lead on a lap 16 restart only to see Parker skillfully battle back to the outside and reclaim the spot as the pair traversed the third and fourth turns.

Watkins settled for second followed by Wagner, Tyler Bear and Kody Lehman.

Sixth through 10<sup>th</sup> went to Anthony Fiore, Alex Schanz, Brittany Tresch, Stephanie Stevens and Scott Ellerman.

Heats for the 35 cars went to Watkins, Schanz, Clair Wintermyer and Jake Waters. Tresch took the consolation race.

## May 23, 2014 Feature Finish:

**410 sprints, 25 laps**: 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Don Kreitz Jr., 3. Lance Dewease, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Lucas Wolfe, 6. Alan Krimes, 7. Danny Dietrich, 8. Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 9. Doug Esh, 10. Ryan Wilson, 11. Ryan Smith, 12. Adam Wilt, 13. Steve Buckwalter, 14. Rick Lafferty, 15. Cory Haas, 16. Austin Hogue, 17. Davey Sammons, 18. Chad Layton, 19. Glenndon Forsythe, 20. Nicole Bower, 21. Dave Ely, 22. Brock Zearfoss, 23. Justin Barger

## DNS: Brian Montieth

**305 sprints, 20 laps:** 1. Eric Parker, 2. Mark Watkins, 3. Mike Wagner II., 4. Tyler Bear, 5. Kody Lehman, 6. Anthony Fiore, 7. Alex Schanz, 8. Brittany Tresch, 9. Stephanie Stevens, 10. Scott Ellerman, 11. Lance Newlin, 12. John Braim, 13. Erin Statler, 14. Derrick Bowersox, 15. Jeff

Miller Jr., 16. Clair Wintermyer, 17. Cole Griffin, 18. Russell Hammaker, 19. Colby Dice, 20. Wayne Dadetto, 21. Jake Waters, 22. Nathan Gramley, 23. Tyler Reeser, 24. Ken Duke

**DNQ:** Matt Mountz, Alex Potoski, John Baker, John Bott, John Bordlemey, Randy Kaylor, Dalton Dietrich, Tyler Lebo, Ian Detweiler, Donnie Hendershot, Zach Newlin