Montieth Takes Lead From Dewease On Final Lap To Win All Stars Gunn Memorial At Williams Grove Speedway

Darren Miller claims 305 sprints

8/19/16

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mechanicsburg – What looked like Lance Dewease's race turned out to be Brian Montieth's victory in the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints Jack Gunn Memorial at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

A week after Montieth's second victory of the season, he scored his third with a last lap pass of Dewease after losing the top spot to him earlier on the 13th circuit in the 30-lap main.

In the 20-lap 305 sprint feature, Darren Miller of Mount Joy took the win for his first of the season anywhere in the division.

Montieth jumped from his pole position to the lead over second starter Dewease at the start of the Gunn Memorial All Stars main and hit traffic on the eighth tour with Dewease in tow.

It was about that time that Dewease began really biting into Montieth's advantage, cutting it down to .132 seconds as the pair crossed the stripe to complete lap 12.

During the ensuing tour, Dewease motored into the lead as most had been expecting while Tim Shaffer raced a close third on the track.

Once in front Dewease drove away from the field, building nearly a two second lead over Montieth with eight laps to go.

But during the final five circuits, Dewease's car began to seemingly struggle as it traversed the straightaways, allowing Montieth to close as he hooked the cushion for closing power every lap.

And with three laps to go, it was clear the race was going to be contested again before the finish and indeed it was as the pair shot for the white flag.

They crossed under the one-to-go mark nose to tail before Montieth bolted to Dewease's inside in the first corner to make a last lap pass for the win.

Dewease tried to turn the car off of the second turn and get back underneath Montieth as the pair blasted onto the backchute but Montieth was clearly superior at that point as he pulled away onto the backchute for the \$5,000 victory plus another \$250 for making a last lap pass for the checkers.

"Once he got by it was hero or zero," said Montieth of getting passed by Dewease for the lead.

"Without the curb I don't think I would caught them. We were gonna win this thing or ball it up."

By claiming the victory, Montieth pushed the score by the locals known as the Pennsylvania Posse to 30 and 0 over the All Stars in their 30 appearances to date at he track since 1970.

Dewease commented on what he felt lost him the race late.

"We were kinda hangining on there at the end. I made my big mistake up there in three and four on the last lap."

"I was gonna fly Lucas and he moved down so I went to the top and I just didn't carry any momentum down the frontstretch," Dewease said.

Tim Shaffer rode home third followed by Stevie Smith and Greg Hodnett.

Sixth through 10th went to Danny Dietrich, Dale Blaney, Brent Marks, Doug Esh and Freddie Rahmer.

Heats went to Tim Wagaman, Stevie Smith, Cory Haas and Danny Holtgraver. Aaron Ott won the B Main and Montieth won the dash to earn the pole for the feature event.

Fast time of 16.748 seconds was set by Tim Shaffer.

Darren Miller led all 20 laps of the 305 sprint main to take the victory over Colby Dice.

Dice started sixth and took over second on the third lap but could never challenge for the win.

Mike Kiser took third followed by Ken Duke Jr. and Tyler Reeser.

Heats went to Miller, Zach Newlin, and Mike Kiser. Jay Krout scored the consolation race.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval's official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by keeping up with the oval on Facebook or Twitter.

August 12, 2016 Finishes:

Qualifying

1.13-Tim Shaffer, 16.748; 2.69K-Lance Dewease, 16.905; 3.27-Greg Hodnett, 16.961; 4.10H-Chad Kemenah, 17.005; 5.1-Dale Blaney, 17.025; 6.51S-Stevie Smith, 17.062; 7.48-Danny Dietrich, 17.065; 8.07-Doug Esh, 17.086; 9.1Z-Lucas Wolfe, 17.098; 10.21M-Brian

Montieth, 17.131; 11.1*-Tim Wagaman, 17.134; 12.51-Freddie Rahmer, 17.184; 13.87-Alan Krimes, 17.209; 14.44-Rodney Westhafer, 17.213; 15.3Z-Brock Zearfoss, 17.215; 16.94-Ryan Smith, 17.250; 17.70-Danny Holtgraver, 17.252; 18.19m-Brent Marks, 17.261; 19.25-Aaron Ott,

17.268; 20.5-Chase Dietz, 17.315; 21.21-Cap Henry, 17.363; 22.0-Rick Lafferty, 17.397; 23.11c-Cory Haas, 17.433; 24.57X-Andrew Palker, 17.478; 25.11K-Kraig Kinser, 17.481; 26.93-Sheldon Haudenschild, 17.498; 27.52-Austin Hogue, 17.513; 28.81-Lee Jacobs, 17.537; 29.40-Caleb Helms, 17.543; 30.75-Nicole Bower, 17.609; 31.60-Kory Crabtree, 17.635; 32.35-Daryl Stimeling, 17.927; 33.49H-Bradley Howard, 18.069; 34.83-Cody Fairchok, 18.243; 35.12w-Troy Fraker, 18.676; 36.8M-TJ Michael, 99.990;

Heat 1, Group A - (8 Laps)

1. 1*-Tim Wagaman[1]; 2. 69K-Lance Dewease[3]; 3. 10H-Chad Kemenah[2]; 4. 13-Tim Shaffer[4]; 5. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[6]; 6. 81-Lee Jacobs[8]; 7. 21-Cap Henry[7]; 8. 87-Alan Krimes[5]; 9. 83-Cody Fairchok[9]

Heat 2, Group B - (8 Laps)

1. 51S-Stevie Smith[4]; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich[3]; 3. O7-Doug Esh[2]; 4. 19m-Brent Marks[5]; 5. 5-Chase Dietz[6]; 6. 0-Rick Lafferty[7]; 7. 60-Kory Crabtree[8]; 8. 44-Rodney Westhafer[1]

Heat 3, Group C - (8 Laps)

1. 11c-Cory Haas[1]; 2. 21M-Brian Montieth[3]; 3. 51-Freddie Rahmer[2]; 4. 1Z-Lucas Wolfe[4]; 5. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[7]; 6. 11K-Kraig Kinser[6]; 7. 57X-Andrew Palker[5]; 8. 40-Caleb Helms[8]; 9. 75-Nicole Bower[9]

Heat 4, Group D - (8 Laps)

1. 70-Danny Holtgraver[1]; 2. 1-Dale Blaney[3]; 3. 94-Ryan Smith[2]; 4. 27-Greg Hodnett[4]; 5. 52-Austin Hogue[6]; 6. 25-Aaron Ott[5]; 7. 35-Daryl Stimeling[7]; 8. 12w-Troy Fraker[9]

Dash 1 - (6 Laps)

1. 21M-Brian Montieth[1] ; 2. 69K-Lance Dewease[5] ; 3. 13-Tim Shaffer[2] ; 4. 51S-Stevie Smith[3] ; 5. 27-Greg Hodnett[6] ; 6. 1-Dale Blaney[4] ; 7. 48-Danny Dietrich[7] ; 8. 1*-Tim Wagaman[8]

B-Main 1 - (12 Laps)

1. 25-Aaron Ott[3]; 2. 44-Rodney Westhafer[2]; 3. 11K-Kraig Kinser[7]; 4. 0-Rick Lafferty[5]; 5. 57X-Andrew Palker[6]; 6. 21-Cap Henry[4]; 7. 81-Lee Jacobs[8]; 8. 35-Daryl Stimeling[12]; 9. 75-Nicole Bower[10]; 10. 60-Kory Crabtree[11]; 11. 12w-Troy Fraker[14]; 12. 40-Caleb Helms[9]; 13. 83-Cody Fairchok[13]; 14. 87-Alan Krimes[1]; 15. 49H-Bradley Howard[15]

A-Main 1 - (30 Laps)

1. 21M-Brian Montieth[1]; 2. 69K-Lance Dewease[2]; 3. 13-Tim Shaffer[3]; 4. 51S-Stevie Smith[4]; 5. 27-Greg Hodnett[5]; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich[7]; 7. 1-Dale Blaney[6]; 8. 19m-Brent Marks[15]; 9. O7-Doug Esh[12]; 10. 51-Freddie Rahmer[13]; 11. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[19]; 12. 11c-Cory Haas[10]; 13. 10H-Chad Kemenah[11]; 14. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[17]; 15. 70-Danny Holtgraver[9]; 16. 1Z-Lucas Wolfe[16]; 17. 52-Austin Hogue[20]; 18. 11K-Kraig Kinser[21]; 19. 1*-Tim Wagaman[8]; 20. 5-Chase Dietz[18]; 21. 44-Rodney Westhafer[22]; 22. 75-Nicole Bower[26]; 23. 94-Ryan Smith[14]; 24. 21-Cap Henry[23]; 25. 0-Rick Lafferty[24]; 26. 25-Aaron Ott[25]

305 Sprints, 20 laps: 1. Darren Miller, 2. Colby Dice, 3. Mike Kiser, 4. Ken Duke Jr., 5. Tyler Reeser, 6. Dave Brown, 7. Zach Newlin, 8. Stephanie Dodson, 9. Mark Watkins, 10. John Barnett, 11. Kyle Ganoe, 12. Scott Ellerman, 13. Cale Reigle, 14. Jaremi Hanson, 15. Erin Statler, 16. Ian Detweiler, 17. Alex Potosky, 18. Jay Krout, 19. Kirsten Hess, 20. Rick Stief, 21. Mike Alleman, 22. Donnie Hendershot, 23. Tom Worrick, 24. Dave Grube