Doug Esh Hammers Home To Win Williams Grove, Ellerman scores 305s

4/15/16

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mechanicsburg – Doug Esh of Lancaster put the hammer down to overtake Austin Hogue and go on to win the 410 sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

Elsewhere in the 20-lap 305 sprint main it was Landisburg's Scott Ellerman taking the victory on his birthday.

The 25-lap sprint car main was red flagged on just the first lap when polesitter Matt Campbell cleared the outside turns three and four fence, flipping wildly but escaping injury.

Leader Austin Hogue continued on his way when action resumed with seventh starter Esh running third as the field entered the backmarkers on the eighth tour, just before a final caution flag unfuled with nine laps away.

Esh got around Brock Zearfoss for second on the restart and began chasing Hogue for the lead and win.

And of course Hogue again entered the backmarkers and it was at that point when Esh was able to more substantially close the gap between he and the leader.

But time was running out as the laps clicked off and it took until three laps to go for Esh to get around the fleet running Hogue.

Esh was able to throw his No. 07 in front of Hogue with a deep swoop into the third corner before driving up across the track to take control as lap 22 was scored.

The Lancaster driver then pulled away to a 1.699 second lead at the finish over Hoque.

It was Esh's 23rd career win at the oval, worth \$3,600.

As the race came to the checkers, Danny Dietrich pounced on Brian Montieth in the third corner for third after Montieth had driven from seventh into the spot.

Montieth ended up fourth followed by Greg Hodnett.

Sixth through 10th went to Lance Dewease in his first Williams Grove start of the season, Brock Zearfoss, Freddie Rahmer, Stevie Smith and Mark Smith.

Heats went to Rahmer, Mark Smith and Hogue with the consolation going to Lucas Wolfe.

Jaremi Hanson took the lead at the start of the 305 sprint main followed by Ellerman.

And just like in the 410 sprint car main, traffic would play a factor in the race for the lead.

Hanson struggled with the backmarkers giving Ellerman his chance and he made good on a run with three laps to go to steal the win.

Hanson then tried to come back on Ellerman for the victory but to no avail as a caution flag with two laps to go cleared the track, allowing Ellerman to drive away.

Mike Kiser was third followed by Zach Newlin and Jordan Thomas.

Sixth through 10th went to George Riden, Colby Dice, Dave Brown Jr., Ken Duke and Stephanie Dodson.

Jared Esh won the Wee Bee Audio and Video Hard Charger Award for driving from 23rd to 15th at the finish.

Heats went to Ellerman, Newlin and Riden with Rick Stief taking the consolation race.

April 15, 2016 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Doug Esh, 2. Austin Hogue, 3. Danny Dietrich, 4. Brian Montieth, 5. Greg Hodnett, 6. Lance Deweae, 7. Brock Zearfoss, 8. Freddie Rahmer, 9. Stevie Smith, 10. Mark Smith, 11. Lucas Wolfe, 12. Alan Krimes, 13. Brent Marks, 14. Steve Buckwalter, 15. Rick Lafferty, 16. Rodney Westhafer, 17. Chad Trout, 18. Tim Glatfelter, 19. Cory Haas, 20. Daryl Stimeling, 21. Pat Cannon, 22. Nicole Bower, 23. Wayne Dadetto, 24. Matt Campbell

DNQ: Jay Galloway, Joe Trenca, Tyler Bear, Troy Fraker, Jevon Ahner, Todd Berkheimer

305 sprints, **20** laps: 1. Scott Ellerman, 2. Jeremi Hanson, 3. Mike Kiser, 4. Zach Newlin, 5. Jordan Thomas, 6. George Riden, 7. Colby Dice, 8. Dave Brown Jr., 9. Ken Duke, 10. Stephanie Dodson, 11. John Martin, 12. Darren Miller, 13. Jeff Geiges, 14. Geoff Gill, 15. Jared Esh, 16. Kyle Ganoe, 17. Alex Potsoky, 18. Scott Lutz, 19. Erin Statler, 20. Ian Detweiler, 21. Jay Krout, 22. Jon Haegele, 23. Andrew Hake, 24. Rick Steif

DNQ: Mark Watkins, Tyler Reeser, John Bordlemay, Terry Schaeffer, Keith Anderson, Austin Burke, Neil Petock