Hodnett Claims Redemption In Williams Grove Sprints, Cosner Scores Super Lates

3/25/16

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mechanicsburg – Greg Hodnett claimed redemption in a big way on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway after losing the sprint car season opener last week due to mechanical difficulty.

And in the super late model feature Matt Cosner of Cumberland, Md., scored his first ever Williams Grove feature win worth \$2,000 after holding off last week's winners Gregg Satterlee.

Brock Zearfoss took the lead from the pole of the 25-lap sprint car main over Brent Marks.

The race pace was slowed only once, on the third lap for a stopped Dave Jones and Hodnett was fifth for the restart.

Marks steadily tracked down leader Zearfoss and got himself into a battle for the lead amid traffic as the race approached the halfway point.

And in the meantime, Hodnett got himself into the fray with a two-car pass of Ryan Smith and Aaron Ott on the fifth circuit.

So as the front duo raced each other for the lead, Hodnett was able to track them down and get by Marks for second with 10 away and then put Zearfoss away on the 12th lap.

A lap later however Zearfoss withdrew after getting passed by Marks and as Hodnett worked traffic, Marks began tracking him down, quickly taking a .721 second lead down to a .393 second advantage with nine laps to go.

And that .393 second advantage turned into the lead on the 17th tour as Marks flew to the the outside of Hodnett for the lead to pull down in front as the pair raced onto the backchute with a bit of contact that saw Hodnett wiggle after a swipe of his front wing.

But Hodnett was far from done as he was keeping Marks within reach at the five to go mark and then as Marks worked traffic with the lead, Hodnett pounced to his outside in the fourth corner to take a scant. 145 second lead on the 22nd tour only after the pair glanced off of one another as they neared the line.

And this time after Hodnett got the lead he opened up enough breathing room to seal the victory, his 61st at the historic oval, worth \$3,800.

All the while during the final five laps, 14th starter Brian Montieth was challenging the pair of leaders making the race to the finish an electric one however Montieth would settle for third.

Aaron Ott was fourth followed by Ryan Smith.

Sixth through 10th went to Cory Haas, Danny Dietrich, Mark Smith, Lucas Wolfe and Doug Esh.

Heats went to Mark Smith, Haas and Wolfe with Esh taking the consolation race.

Cosner took the lead from Bryan Bernheisel on the fifth tour of the 25-lap super late model main to run to the win but he had to do so while staying ahead of Gregg Satterlee.

After scoring a win last week during opening night, Satterlee started eighth in the field and was up to fourth with six away.

He got by Bernheisel for second on the eighth lap and then spent the remainder of the distance trying to figure out how to get by Cosner.

After running him down, Satterlee searched various lines repeatedly, trying to find an avenue to make a pass but Cosner was flawless to the checkered flag.

Bernheisel settled for third followed by Jim Yoder and Dylan Yoder.

Sixth through 10th went to Kenny Pettyjohn, Gene Knaub, Rick Singleton, Gary Stuhler and Mason Zeigler.

Heats went to Dylan Yoder and Singleton.

March 25, 2016 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Brent Marks, 3. Brian Montieth, 4. Aaron Ott, 5. Ryan Smith, 6. Cory Haas, 7. Danny Dietrich, 8. Mark Smith, 9. Lucas Wolfe, 10. Doug Esh, 11. Freddie Rahmer, 12. Austin Hogue, 13. Pat Cannon, 14. Rodney Westhafer, 15. Kasey Kahne, 16. Matt Campbell, 17. Nicole Bower, 18. Troy Fraker, 19. Rick Lafferty, 20. Tim Glatfelter, 21. Brock Zearfoss, 22. Steve Buckwalter, 23, Alan Krimes, 24. Dave Jones

DNQ: Branden Rahmer, Chad Trout, Brad Franks, Kevin Albert

Late models, 25 laps: 1. Matt Cosner, 2. Gregg Satterlee, 3. Bryan Bernheisel, 4. Jim Yoder, 5. Dylan Yoder, 6. Kenny Pettyjohn, 7. Gene Knaub, 8. Rick Singleton, 9. Gary Stuhler, 10. Mason Zeigler, 11. Kyle Hardy, 12. Mike Lupfer, 13. Danny Snyder, 14. Glenn Elliott, 15. Billy Wampler, 16. Chris Casner, 17. Nick Dickson, 18. Travis Stickley, 19. Dan Stone