Tony Jackson, Dan Zechman and Jeff Haag Win Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Features

Mechanicsburg, PA., August 23, 2015

The name Jackson is famous in Williams Grove Speedway's Super Sportsman history. Larry Jackson, one of the greatest drivers in the annals of Super Sportsman racing, won 13 features at Williams Grove. Saturday night Tony Jackson, son of Larry Jackson, added his name to the victor's list with a climatic victory over veteran Russ Mitten.

Tony Jackson started on the pole in the 20-lap Blazer's Body Shop Super Sportsman feature and sprinted into the lead. Russ Mitten, Chad Trout, Bill Devine, and Bobby Hockenberry were in pursuit. Trout wrestled second from Mitten in the second lap.

The first caution came during the fifth circuit. Chad Trout had a strong restart and was even with Jackson entering turn three. Trout's car drifted wide in turn four and Jackson gained a five-length lead entering turn one.

The top five of Jackson, Trout, Mitten, Hockenberry, and Scott Dellinger were riding single file around the speedway. Jackson, by lap nine, held a 15-length edge.

Following a lap-12 restart, Russ Mitten advanced into second position. The lead duo of Jackson and Mitten separated from the field. Tony Jackson maintained a four-car length edge over Mitten.

The third and final caution came with two laps remaining. Russ Mitten had a strong restart and was a length behind Tony Jackson. On the final circuit, Mitten dove to the bottom lane in turns three and four, pulling even with Jackson. The leaders were side-by-side exiting turn four. Tony Jackson forged a slight lead and the Newville driver crossed the finish line a length ahead of Russ Mitten. Chad Trout was third, Mike Enders fourth, and Bobby Hockenberry was fifth.

As the competitors crossed the finish line one car slowed sending Davey' Walsh's sportsman careening into the inside fence. Walsh's car flipped into the first turn in a wreck that collected several machines. Although Walsh's car was destroyed, he walked back to the pits.

The victory is Tony Jackson's first at Williams Grove Speedway. He becomes the 36th Saturday Night Series Super Sportsman feature victor and the 44th Super Sportsman competitor to win in Williams Grove history.

Frankie Herr captured the 2015 Blazer's Body Shop Super Sportsman point title. Herr, from Carlisle, will not defend his title in 2016. During the past week Herr sold all of his Super Sportsman equipment.

Heat wins for the 32-car field went to Bill Devine, Dellinger and Trout. The consolation went to Tom Wyckoff. Chad Smith, driving his just-purchased former Frankie Herr machine, received the Sprint Aces Hard Charger award.

Pat Beard led the opening circuit of the 20-lap Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Model feature. Dan Zechman, one lap later, became the race's new leader.

The event's only caution came on lap five. Zechman continued to lead with Scott Richwine taking possession of second. By lap eight Shaun Jones advanced to third. It was a race of the number twos with the No. 2Z of Dan Zechman in the lead, the No. 2 of Scott Richwine in second and the No. 2M of Shaun Jones in third.

Dan Zechman, from Hanover, took control of the race, gaining an eighth-mile lead. Scott Richwine and Shaun Jones were in a close fight for second. Cam Zeigler, Wes Alleman and Billy Wampler were contending for fourth.

Dan Zechman cruised to his third 2015 victory. He is tied for fourth with four victories on the Saturday Night Series all-time leading 358 Late Model feature winner's list. Shaun Jones used a late pass to finish in second with Scott Richwine in third. Wes Alleman was fourth and Billy Wampler was fifth.

Billy Wampler, in his first full season of competition with the Saturday Night Series, claimed the 2015 Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Model point title.

Preliminaries for the 20-car field went to Jake Jones and Wampler. Travis Mease won the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

Eric Tripp led the start of the 15-lap Aquafun Pools Street Stock feature. One lap later there was a massive pile-up on the front stretch that involved many of the competitors. The race went under red flag conditions.

Eric Tripp, after the restart, continued to lead with Mike Buckley and Jeff Haag close behind. On the third lap Haag swept by Buckley and Haag to become the new leader.

Following a series of restarts Haag was leading with Mike Buckley in second and Kory Sites in third. Sites and Buckley battled for second allowing leader Haag to widen his lead.

Jeff Haag, from Auburn, held a 1.5-second lead when Kory Sites passed Mike Buckley for second. Haag won his sixth of the year by 12 lengths over Kory Sites, Mike Buckley, Jasen Geesaman, and Friday night's winner Sean Dawson. Jeff Haag has 12 career Saturday Night Series victories tying him for second on the all-time leading winner's listing.

Craig Morgan, a victim of the second-lap crash, won the 2015 Aquafun Pools Street Stock point title.

Geesaman and Kevin Sigler won the qualifiers for the 22 entries. Steven Dove received the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

This is the final Saturday show of the 2015 Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series. The SNS will return to Williams Grove Speedway action on September 11 for

the Topless 30 358 Late Model race. Joining the 358 Late Models will be the Super Sportsman and Street Stocks.

Super Sportsman results:

1. Tony Jackson, 2. Russ Mitten, 3. Chad Trout, 4. Mike Enders, 5. Bobby Hockenberry, 6. Scott Dellinger, 7. Steve Fannasy, 8. Doug Dobson, 9. Frankie Herr, 10. Gregg Foster, 11. Bill Devine, 12. Davey Walsh, 13. Eric Walker, 14. Kenny Edkin, 15. Devin Beidel, 16. Chad Smith, 17. Tom Wyckoff, 18. Jared Miller, 19. Dave Berkheimer, 20. Jay Fannasy, 21. Justin Foster, 22. Todd Leonard, 23. Duaine Smith, 24. Rich Eichelberger. DNQ: Bob Gutshall, Paul Miller, John Stoll Jr., Lanny Hake, Nate Young, Timmie Barrick, Chad Criswell, Teddy Thomas

358 Late Model results:

1. Dan Zechman, 2. Shaun Jones, 3. Scott Richwine, 4. Cam Zeigler, 5. Billy Wampler, 6. Wes Alleman, 7. Ron Kline, 8. Chad Julius, 9. Alan Sagi, 10. Jake Jones, 11. Randy Christine, 12. Travis Mease, 13. Dave Latsha, 14. Pat Beard, 15. Jed Latshaw, 16. Chaz Walls, 17. Garrett Walls, 18. Zach Kauffman, 19. Al Cheney, 20. Daulton Bigler

Street Stock results:

1. Jeff Haag, 2. Kory Sites, 3. Mike Buckley, 4. Jasen Geesamen, 5. Sean Dawson, 6. Walt Lemmon, 7. Doug Hoffman, 8. Dalton Frye, 9. Sean Todd, 10. Eric Tripp, 11. Steven Dove, 12. Scott Strickler, 13. Todd Bowersox, 14. Calvin Redding, 15. Wayne Dutterer, 16. Charlie Pensinger, 17. Dave Bowermaster, 18. Ryan Smith, 19. Kevin Sigler, 20. Greg Diehl, 21. Craig Morgan, 22. Chris Heller