Scott Geesey, Wes Alleman and Jeff Haag Win Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series Openers

Mechanicsburg, PA May 3, 2015

Williams Grove Speedway's Saturday Night Series began its 10th year of competition Saturday. A field of 79 competitors filled the pit area with a large, enthusiastic crowd on the speedway grounds. Scott Geesey missed an early crash to win the Blazer's Body Shop Super Sportsman main. Wes Alleman was victorious in the Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Models, capturing the checkered flag following a final-lap pass. Jeff Haag held off a late challenge to win the Aquafun Pools Street Stock main event.

The 20-lap Super Sportsman main was a race of survival. Russ Mitten led the first two laps of the event with Rich Eichelberger, Tony Jackson and Tom Wyckoff in pursuit. Scott Geesey began the race in eighth position and was in fifth by the completion of lap one.

The red flag was out on lap three for a multiple-car tangle in the first turn. Mitten, following the restart, continued to set the pace with Eichelberger, Wyckoff, Geesey, Frankie Herr, and Mike Enders trailing. The red flag returned at the completion of five laps when Frankie Herr spun on the front stretch and Justin Foster rolled over in turn three. Foster received no injuries in his spill.

Scott Geesey was the driver on the move. The Wellsville driver wrestled third from Tom Wyckoff on lap six and one circuit later he passed Rich Eichelberger for second.

Troy Rhome's car rolled over during the ninth lap bringing another red flag. The restart resulted in a pile up in turn two that sent Paul Miller's machine into a rollover. Neither Rhome nor Miller received any injuries.

Russ Mitten was the leader for the restart with Scott Geesey, Rich Eichelberger, Tom Wyckoff and Jay Fannasy giving chase. One lap later Geesey slid by Mitten in turns three and four to become the new leader.

Scott Geesey gained a 2.9 second leader over Russ Mitten. The caution returned on the final lap when the car of third-place driver Rich Eichelberger came to a halt. Geesey, from Wellsville, recorded his 11th career Saturday Night Series win by eight lengths over Mitten. Frankie Herr made a stirring rally from the rear of the field to finish in third. Jay Fannasy finished in fourth and Steve Wilbur, coming from 13th place, was fifth.

Heat wins for the 27-car field went to Scott Dellinger, Kenny Edkins and Steve Fannasy. Steve Wilbur won the Sprint Aces Hard Charger award.

After two opening-lap restarts, Shaun Jones led the 20-lap Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Model feature. Cam Zeigler, Jake Jones, Brad Shank and seventh-place starter Wes Alleman trailed the leader.

Wes Alleman used a lap-two restart to advance into fourth position. Over the next two circuits Alleman proceeded into second by passing Jones and Zeigler. By the midway point of the event Jones held an eight-length edge over Alleman.

By lap 16 the lead duo encountered slower traffic. As Shaun Jones tried to negotiate his way by traffic, Wes Alleman erased the gap. With three-laps remaining there was contact between the leaders, both drivers masterfully gathering their machines.

On the final lap Jones, in turns one and two, went to the inside of a slower car. There was contact between the two sending Jones' machine sideways at the exit of turn two. Wes Alleman went to the outside and slipped into the lead. Jones manhandled his errant car and was able to make a challenge in the final turns. Newville's Wes Alleman ended the wild affair with a three-length victory over Jones. Alleman has five career Saturday Night Series victories. Jake Jones, Cam Zeigler and Billy Wampler completed the top five. Ron Kline, Zeigler and Wampler won the preliminaries for the 23-car field. The Artwerks Hard Charger award went to Les Hare.

Jeff Haag started third in the 15-lap Aquafun Pools Street Stock feature. The Mechanicsburg competitor was in front by the end of the opening circuit. Doug Hoffman, Todd Bowersox, Jason Geesaman, and Kevin Sigler were chasing the leader. The lead duo of Haag and Hoffman gained a comfortable advantage over the field.

Following a lap six restart Haag began to stretch out his lead with Doug Hoffman and Jason Geesaman fighting for second. With five-laps remaining Haag held a 12-length advantage as Geesaman passed Hoffman for second.

Jeff Haag's large lead disappeared with a final-lap yellow. Jason Geesaman anticipated the start and pulled beside Haag entering the first turn. Haag had the fast line off turn two and led the way into the final turns. Jeff Haag won his eighth career Saturday Night Series feature by three lengths over Geesaman. Doug Hoffman, Greg Diehl and Chris Derr completed the top five.

Kevin Sigler, Haag and Diehl won the heats for the 29 competitors. Wayne Duttera captured the consolation victory. Jason Geesaman received the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

The Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series returns to action this week featuring the Blazer's Body Shop Super Sportsman, Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Models and Aquafun Pools Street Stocks. Racing action begins at 7 PM. Adult admission is just six dollars with children 12 and under free.

Super Sportsman Results:

1. Scott Geesey, 2. Russ Mitten, 3. Frankie Herr, 4. Jay Fannasy, 5. Steve Wilbur, 6. Bobby Hockenberry, 7. Tom Wyckoff, 8. Chad Criswell, 9. David Walsh, 10. Stan Wanner, 11. Chad Smith, 12. Scott Dellinger, 13. Dave Conrad Jr., 14. Todd Leonard, 15. Lanny Hake, 16. Rich Eichelberger, 17. Mike Enders, 18. Paul Miller, 19. Troy Rhome, 20. Steve Fannasy, 21. Justin Foster, 22. Tony Jackson, 23. Kenny Edkins DNQ: Timmy Barrick, Nate Young, Chad Trout, Devin Beidel

358 Late Model results:

1. Wes Alleman, 2. Shaun Jones, 3. Jake Jones, 4. Cam Zeigler, 5. Billy Wampler, 6. Brad Shank, 7. Scott Richwine, 8. Alan Sagi, 9. Justin Ehrhart, 10. Travis Mease, 11. Pat Beard, 12. Dave Latsha, 13. Les Hare, 14. Sam Rial, 15. Ron Kline, 16. Matt Murphy, 17. Dalton Bigler, 18. Al Cheney, 19. Dallas Wenrich, 20. Bryan Wright, 21. Tim Murphy, 22. Paul McNeal DNS: Sam Gallagher

Street Stock results:

1. Jeff Haag, 2. Jason Geesaman, 3. Doug Hoffman, 4. Greg Diehl, 5. Chris Derr, 6. Todd Bowersox, 7. Mike Buckley, 8. Kevin Sigler, 9. Eric Tripp, 10. Craig Morgan, 11. Steven Dove, 12. Ed Halter, 13. Walt Lemmon, 14. Randy Zechman, 15. Dalton Frye, 16. Dave Goode, 17. Scott Strickler, 18. Dave Bowermaster, 19. Sean Dawson, 20. Dustin Hollinger, 21. Eric Johnson, 22. Dave Shatto, 23. Ryan Smith, 24. Larry Phillips DNS: Wayne Duttera, DNQ: Brett Pickell, Donnie Murphy, Bob Scott Jr., Terry Hartlaub