Montieth And Hammaker Split Williams Grove Sprint Mains

5/1/15

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mechanicsburg – Brian Montieth of Phoenixville won his first Williams Grove Speedway sprint car feature of the year on Friday night after taking the lead from Pat Cannon on the 10th lap.

Montieth then went on to lead the final 16 circuits to take home \$3,600 plus another \$160 in lap money for the victory.

Doug Hammaker became the third and final leader in the 358 sprint feature to take home the checkers in that division to close the night.

Second starter Cannon took the lead when action began in the 410 sprint main over Tim Glatfelter with fourth starter Montieth running third on the first lap.

Montieth and Glatfelter went back and forth in a spirited battle for second for a few laps before Montieth finally got the spot with five away.

And then he set his sights on Cannon, who began working the backmarkers on the seventh tour.

Cannon could only maintain staying ahead of Montieth until the fourth corner of the 10th lap when Montieth went out front for good.

Over the last half of the race, fifth starter Alan Krimes surged to the front, motoring by the competition while cruising around the bottom side of the speedway.

He took third with 11 laps to go and then got Cannon for second with seven remaining.

However he was far behind the leader at that point and failed to close the gap during the final stages and even a lone caution flag with two laps to go failed to produce a race for the win as Montieth streaked away for the victory.

Cannon ran a good race to finish third followed by 12th starter Greg Hodnett and eighth starter Brent Marks.

Sixth through 10th went to Lance Dewease, Lucas Wolfe, Glatfelter, Mark Smith and Brock Zearfoss.

Heats went to Marks, Krimes and Danny Dietrich.

Adrian Shaffer took the lead at the start of the 20-lap 358 sprint main and was holding a healthy lead on the 11th tour when disaster struck as he worked the backmarkers.

He had run up on Russell Hammaker and CJ Quirk who were jockeying for position on the backchute and when the pair couldn't decide what lines they were taking Shaffer made contact as he tried to get around them, forcing him to spin the car against the inside wall.

That handed the lead to fourth starter Kevin Nouse who would lead until the 17th tour.

By that time Doug Hammaker had driven from fourth on the restart to second place using the inside lane and he went out front using the same lane to record the payday.

Nouse settled for second followed by Matt Campbell, Chandler Leiby and Brad McClelland.

Sixth through 10th went to Kody Lehman, Rich Eichelberger, Chase Dietz, Matt Findley and Scott Fisher.

Heats went to Lehman, McClelland and Shaffer.

May 1, 2015 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Alan Krimes, 3. Pat Cannon, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Brent Marks, 6. Lance Dewease, 7. Lucas Wolfe, 8. Tim Glatfelter, 9. Mark Smith, 10. Brock Zearfoss, 11. Danny Dietrich, 12. Steve Buckwalter, 13. Cory Haas, 14. Don Kreitz Jr., 15. Rick Lafferty, 16. Rodney Westhafer, 17. Daryl Stimeling, 18. Austin Hogue, 19. Troy Fraker, 20. Jim Shuster, 21. Glenndon Forsythe, 22. Jay Galloway, 23. Nicole Bower

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Doug Hammaker, 2. Kevin Nouse, 3. Matt Campbell, 4. Chandler Leiby, 5. Brad McClelland, 6. Kody Lehman, 7. Rich Eichelberger, 8. Chase Dietz, 9. Matt Findley, 10. Scott Fisher, 11. Amy Ott, 12. Brie Hershey, 13. Todd Reed, 14. Bill Stine, 15. John Braim, 16. Leah Starner, 17. CJ Quirk, 18. DJ Montgomery, 19. Russell Hammaker, 20. Ryan Kissinger, 21. Tyler Esh, 22. Adrian Shaffer, 23. Phil Walter

DNS: Adam Lyman