Lucas Wolfe Gets First Of Year In Williams Grove Sprints, Mark Smith Wins URC 6/2/17

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mechanicsburg – Lucas Wolfe of Mechanicsburg scored his first win of the season at Williams Grove Speedway in the 410-sprint car feature on Friday night, taking home \$3,800 for his victory.

In the 25-lap URC Sprint main, Mark Smith scored the victory worth \$2,000, his second of the year on the URC circuit.

Wolfe would drive to his 16th career win at Williams Grove from the fifth starting spot in the 25-lap sprint car main.

He was fourth behind leader Rodney Westhafer on the first lap with Brandon Rahmer and TJ Stutts also ahead of him filling the top spots.

Wolfe waged a spirited battle with Stutts for second, exchanging the spot a few times during the early going before settling in, regrouping and swooping by for the position with 10 laps recorded.

Once around Stutts, Wolfe made quick work of Rahmer to take second a lap later before tracking down Westhafer.

Another swoop netted Wolfe the lead in the third and fourth corners as he raced to the completion of lap 15.

Last week's winner, Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg came alive with 12 laps to go and as Wolfe was taking control, Dietrich raced into third.

Moments later, Dietrich took second from Westhafer to begin a pursuit of Wolfe for his second win in a row.

Wolfe saw a 1.010 second lead over Dietrich erased with three laps to go when the yellow flag unfurled for debris on the track.

Dietrich kept Wolfe close on the restart but Wolfe was able to sneak away just far enough to prevent a last lap effort by Dietrich to steal the win, taking the checkers by 684 seconds.

Dietrich settled for second followed by 10th starter Freddie Rahmer, Stutts and 11th starter Lance Dewease.

Sixth through 10th went to Brian Montieth, Westhafer, Greg Hodnett, Anthony Macri and Mark Smith.

Heats went to Freddie Rahmer, Dewease and Macri.

Davie Franek started on the pole of the URC Sprint main with Curt Michael to his outside and Franek took the lead when action began.

Mark Smith started third in the field and got around Michael for second the first time on the eighth tour but Michael proved hard to shake and again took the spot back moments later.

Smith was finally able to dust off Michael with 11 laps away as the front runners all worked traffic and in fact, leader Franek was close enough to Smith after he got to second that it took only another lap for him to catch and pass him for control.

Once at the helm Smith got away from the field only to see his winning pace slowed with five to go when the caution flag appeared.

A lap later, a slow roll over by Davey Sammons in the second turn brought out the red flag.

Greg Hodnett got around Chad Layton for third on the restart but another restart a lap later with three to go proved to change nothing at the front with Smith taking the win by 2.214 seconds over Franek and Hodnett.

Layton was fourth followed by Michael.

Sixth through 10th went to Lucas Wolfe, Chuck Hebing, Derek Locke, Jason Shultz and Josh Weller.

Heats went to Eric Tomecek, Ed Aiken, Curt Michael and Greg Hodnett with Kevin Nagy taking the consolation.

June 3, 2017 Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. Freddie Rahmer, 4. TJ Stutts, 5. Lance Dewease, 6. Brian Montieth, 7. Rodney Westhafer, 8. Greg Hodnett, 9. Anthony Macri, 10. Mark Smith, 11. Alan Krimes, 12. Cory Haas, 13. Brock Zearfoss, 14. Ryan Taylor, 15. Nicole Bower, 16. Kyle Pruitt, 17. Jim Shuster, 18. Troy Fraker, 19. Brandon Rahmer, 20. Steve Buckwalter, 21. Rick Lafferty, 22. JJ Grasso, 23. George Streaker Sr.

DNS: Doug Esh

DNQ: Scott Fisher, George Streaker Jr.

URC Sprints (25 laps): 1. Mark Smith, 2. Davie Franek, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Chad Layton, 5. Curt Michael, 6. Lucas Wolfe, 7. Chuck Hebing, 8. Derek Locke, 9. Jason Shultz, 10. Josh Weller, 11. Eric Tomecek, 12. JJ Grasso, 13. Justin Whittall, 14. Ed Aiken, 15. Steve Drevicki, 16. Bryn Gohn, 17. David Quackenbush, 18. Mike Walter II., 19. Robbie Stillwaggon, 20. Kevin Nagy, 21. Davey Sammons, 22. Keith Prutzman, 23. Mallie Shuster, 24. Christopher Allen **DNS:** Chris Coyle, Mark Sasso, Doug Dodson, Chris Arnold, Kris Lillick, Nyle Berkes, Cody Jordan