Ryan Taylor Scores Career Second In Williams Grove Sprints Jeff Halligan opens 358 season with victory

3/30/18

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mechanicsburg – Ryan Taylor dominated the 25-lap sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night to record his second career oval victory in 410 sprint car action.

The win was worth \$3,600 for the Perkasie driver.

In the season debut of the 358 sprint car division at the track, Jeff Halligan outran Kevin Nouse for the win.

The initial start of the 410 sprint car main was red flagged for a first turn flip by Brian Montieth, who had started fifth in the field.

Max McGhee clobbered Montieth after flipping however both drivers escaped injury.

Only the first lap of the main was completed before the first of four yellow flags unfurled on the field, this one for a slowing Greg Hodnett and Tyler Esh and Freddie Rahmer who withdrew from the race.

Taylor led Mark Smith for the restart as Lance Dewease got by Anthony Macri for third and set his sights on Smith.

The pair raced close for the second spot with Dewease moving to Smith's inside on more than one occasion before the duo made contact with six away, finding Dewease spinning in the fourth turn while Smith continued on.

The restart saw fourth place runner Lucas Wolfe stop on the track.

The final caution flag of the race appeared with 12 laps down when Caleb Helms spun in the third turn and then Taylor's pace went unhalted to the finish.

Smith was never able to mount a challenge for the win over the balance of the event, instead finishing 2.058 seconds behind at the finish.

Taylor noted that he knew he had a car that was good enough to win when on the initial start he set the car into the first turn, "and it stuck like glue."

TJ Stutts rode home third followed by Macri and Trey Starks.

Sixth through 10th went to 16th starter Kasey Kahne, Parker Price Miller, Steve Buckwalter, Hodnett and Brock Zearfoss.

Heats for the 31 car field went to Tyler Esh, Stutts and Montieth with the consolation going to Danny Dietrich.

The first 12 laps of the 20 lap 358 sprint main went non-stop with original third starter Jeff Halligan leading from the start.

Halligan slid to the pole for the initial start after Phil Walter relinquished the spot before the green flag could drop.

Halligan's pace was slowed with 12 down for a third turn spin by Brett Wanner.

The restart saw third runner Chase Dietz hop the cushion and spin in the first turn.

No further cautions would hinder the race after that point with Halligan holding off defending track champion Kevin Nouse for the victory on both of the restarts.

At the finish and for the final 10 laps, Halligan held a one-turn advantage over Nouse.

Matt Findley rode home third followed by Brent Shearer and Chris Frank.

Sixth through 10th went to Nyle Berkes, Brie Hershey, Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Glenndon Forsythe and Gregg Foster.

Heats went to Halligan, Foster and Shearer.

Feature Finishes

3/30/18

410 sprints: 1. Ryan Taylor, 2. Mark Smith, 3. TJ Stutts, 4. Anthony Macri, 5. Trey Starks, 6. Kasey Kahne, 7. Parker Price Miller, 8. Steve Buckwalter, 9. Greg Hodnett, 10. Brock Zearfoss, 11. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 12. Rick Lafferty, 13. Nicole Bower, 14. Caleb Helms, 15. Lucas Wolfe, 16. Lance Dewease, 17. Chad Trout, 18. Tyler Esh, 19. Freddie Rahmer, 20. Danny Dietrich, 21 Cory Haas, 22. Aaron Ott, 23. Brian Montieth, 24. Max McGhee

DNQ: Cale Conley, Bradley Howard, Matt Boland, Dave Blaney, Coleman Gullick, TJ Dehaven, Brandon Rahmer

358 sprints: 1. Jeff Halligan, 2. Kevin Nouse, 3. Matt Findley, 4. Brent Shearer, 5 Chris Frank, 6. Nyle Berkes, 7. Brie Hershey, 8. Todd Rittenhouse Jr., 9. Glenndon Forsythe, 10. Gregg Foster, 11. Brett Wanner, 12. Troy Wagaman, 13. Troy Rhome, 14. Scott Fisher, 15. Dave Bonner, 16. Chase Dietz, 17. Eric Parker, 18. Hank Donovan Jr., 19. Wyatt Hinkle, 20. Rich Eichelberger, 21. Phil Walter