Lucas Wolfe Scores First Career Williams Grove Season Opener Sunday

3/11/18

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MECHANICSBURG - Lucas Wolfe of Mechanicsburg led from start to finish to pick up the prestigious Williams Grove Speedway season opener for sprint cars on Sunday afternoon.

Wolfe's first victory in the oval opener was worth \$3,600. It was the 18th overall victory of his Williams Grove Speedway career.

The initial start of the 25 lap main for the 410 sprints was red-flagged when Phoenixville's Brian Montieth vaulted into a series of flips in the second corner after starting 10th.

Montieth escaped injury.

Wolfe then went to work from the pole position to take control in the event ahead of Ohio invader Caleb Helms.

The first 22 laps of the race went non-stop with Wolfe entering lapped traffic on the seventh tour while pulling away.

And by the time the caution flag unfurled with three laps to go, Wolfe had built up a 9.077 second lead over Helms.

The caution flag appeared for a spin in the third turn by Cory Haas, who was running in eighth spot at the time.

As Haas spun backward, defending opening day winner Danny Dietrich made contact with the spinner however he was able to stay under power.

On the restart, another red flag appeared for yet another series of flip, this time as executed by Anthony Macri in the first corner.

Again, there were no injuries.

Ninth starter Greg Hodnett made the most of the final three laps once action resumed, getting by Helms on the final circuit for second.

Hodnett had previously motored inside the top five by getting around Freddie Rahmer and Jason Shultz with five laps to go.

Wolfe took the win by 1.645 seconds over Hodnett with Helms in third followed by Rahmer and Brock Zearfoss.

Sixth through 10th went to Shultz, Danny Dietrich, TJ Stutts, Coleman Gulick and Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Twin heats went to Montieth and Zearfoss.

Feature finish: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Caleb Helms, 4. Freddie Rahmer, 5. Brock Zearfoss, 6. Jason Shultz, 7. Danny Dietrich, 8. TJ Stutts, 9. Coleman Gulick, 10. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 11. Bradley Howard, 12. Troy Fraker, 13. Anthony Macri, 14. Cory Haas, 15. Rick Lafferty, 16. Kody Lehman, 17. Brandon Rahmer, 18. Brian Montieth, 19. Jared Esh