Stewart Turns Back Macri To Win Williams Grove Summer Nationals First Round Friday

Mechanicsburg - Oklahomaâ€[™] s Shane Stewart turned away a challenge from Anthony Macri to win night one of the Champion Racing Oil Summer Nationals for the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

The 25-lap victory was worth \$8,000 to Stewart whose win was just the second of his career at the oval.

Both Stewart and Macri started the race on the front row with Stewart leading lap one before the red flag appeared on the second tour for a two-car tangle between Wayne Johnson and Landon Myers.

Third starter Daryn Pittman drove around Donny Schatz for third on the restart and then tried to close on the leaders but was unable to do so.

Stewart raced the next several laps well out in front before coming up on the rear of the field with 10 laps away, at which time both Macri and Pittman were able to close in.

The pursuing pair was within the same turn as Stewart, ready to tussle for the lead in three-car fashion when a caution flag unfurled with 12 laps completed for a stopped Brian Montieth.

Macri went to work at the new green and pulled a big slide job on Stewart as the pair entered the first corner to take control but Stewart dropped off of the cushion to reclaim the point as the pair raced onto the backchute.

At the same time, Donny Schatz got by Pittman for third, poised to challenge the front runners when a final yellow flag came out with nine laps to go, this time for a slowing Lance Dewease, who had been running fifth.

Schatz got under Macri for second on the restart and held the spot through lap 17 before Macri pulled another slide job in the first turn, this time to reclaim second spot.

But again, Macri was unable to hold the spot and he watched as Schatz went back around for the position.

Stewart was just beginning to come up on the rear of the field once more when the checkers fell on the field, allowing him to take the win by 1.599 seconds over Schatz.

Macri faded to third followed by Pittman and 10th starter Brock Zearfoss.

Sixth through 10th went to David Gravel, Brad Sweet, 21st starter Logan Schuchart, Carson Macedo and 24th starter Sheldon Haudenschild.

I wouldn't have guessed that our first win as a team would come at this racetrack,†said Stewart of his Indy Parts No. 71 racer.

There is no better feeling. I haven't had a lot of success here. l've had good runs but haven't been able to capitalize on the success.â€

Heats went to Dewease, Gravel, Stewart and Pittman with Stewart claiming the dash and Schuchart winning the B Main.

Dewease set fast time over the 35-car field with a lap of 17.025 seconds.

Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Donny Schatz, 3. Anthony Macri, 4. Daryn Pittman, 5. Brock Zearfoss, 6. David Gavel, 7. Brad Sweet, 8. Logan Schuchart, 9. Carson Macedo, 10. Sheldon Haudenschild, 11. Freddie Rahmer, 12. Jacob Allen, 13. Steve Buckwalter, 14. Tim Shaffer, 15. Brent Marks, 16. Danny Dietrich, 17. TJ Stutts, 18. Lucas Wolfe, 19. Kraig Kinser, 20. Lance Dewease, 21. Brian Montieth, 22. Kyle Reinhardt, 23. Ryan Smith, 24. Landon Myers, 25. Wayne Johnson

DNQ: Bill Rose, Brent Shearer, Chris Arnold, Troy Fraker, Robbie Kendall, Jordan Givler, Msaon Daniel, Matt Campbell, Parker Price-Miller, Jason Sides