## Dewease Wins 101 At The Grove, Cockrum Scores USAC Silver Crown

**Mechanicsburg** - Lance Dewease scored sprint car win number 101 at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, taking the lead from Robbie Kendall on the third lap to handily drive to the victory.

The \$5,500 win for the driver of the No. 69K was his second of the year at the track and by taking the checkers Dewease became the first repeat winner of the season at Williams Grove after eight events.

In the 100-lap USAC Silver Crown main event, Shane Cockrum of Benton, Illinois, scored the \$8,000 win after taking control on the 73rd lap.

Dewease started second in the 25-.lap 410 sprint car main and would follow polesitter Kendall for only two circuits before making his move for the lead.

At first Dewease looked to Kendall's outside in the third turn only to fade left and come off of the bottom to get control at the line on the third circuit.

After getting control, his pace was slowed only twice, first with four laps completed and then again on lap 13.

Aboard the Heffner No. 27, Devon Borden took second from Kendall on lap six but then lost the spot to a surging Alan Krimes on the ninth circuit.

Krimes would go on to finish second behind Dewease by a margin of 3.941 seconds.

And the winner already has his sights set on next week's event run in honor of his mechanic, Dave Brown Sr.

Davey does a great job, he said. Any of you young kids come watch him work one night and see if you can hang with an 87-year-old man that's been doing it longer than l've been alive.

We got (win) 100 out of the way the other week, so next week we can really try to win his race. It would be fitting for us to be sitting here in victory lane.

Anthony Macri rode home third followed by Kendall and Borden.

Sixth through 10th went to Freddie Rahmer, Steve Buckwalter, Doug Hammaker, Brandon Rahmer and Chad Trout.

Heats went to Kendall, Dewease and Borden with Ricky Dieva taking the consolation race.

USAC winner Cockrum started the 100 circuit Silver Crown race from the seventh starting spot before working his way to the lead.

Polesitter Jason McDougal led the first 20 laps of the affair before eighth starter Logan Seavey of Sutter, California, got by for control with an inside move.

Seavey was well out in front when he suddenly slowed with driveline problems on lap 42, handing control back over to McDougal of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma.

Justin Grant restarted second and wasted no time making a bid for command, taking a low line for control when green replaced the yellow.

This began McDougal's slip backwards while both Brady Bacon and Cockrum started coming to the front.

The pair raced side by side for a number of laps before Cockrum took the second spot for good.

With 30 laps to go, Bacon tried working the outside for second but instead Cockrum took his queue and bolted extremely low on the frontstretch to get inside of Grant with 27 laps to go.

And once he got the lead Cockrum began stringing his fastest laps of the race together while Shane Cottle came to second.

Restarts on laps 86 and 95 proved no contest for Cockrum who took the checkers by .466 seconds ahead of Cottle.

Chris Windom finished third followed by Bacon and Kyle Robbins.

Sixth through 10th went to McDougal, Carmen Perigo Jr., Justin Grant, Robert Ballou and Mike Haggenbottom.

Fast time was set by McDougal in track record time of 20.354 seconds.

## Feature Finishes

**410 sprint cars, 25 laps:** 1. Lance Dewease, 2. Alan Krimes, 3. Anthony Macri, 4. Robbie Kendall, 5. Devon Borden, 6. Freddie Rahmer, 7. Steve Buckwalter, 8. Doug Hammaker, 9. Brandon Rahmer, 10. Chad Trout, 11. Kyle Moody, 12. Dylan Cisney, 13. Dylan Norris, 14. Chase Dietz, 15. Lucas Wolfe, 16. Justin Whittall, 17. TJ Stutts, 18. Anthony Fiore, 19. Tucker Klaasmeyer, 20. Dwight Leppo, 21. Ricky Dieva, 22. Todd Zinn, 23. Gordon Senft III., 24. Jeff Halligan

DNQ: Steve Downs, Tyler Ross, Bryn Gohn

**USAC Silver Crown, 100 laps:** 1. Shane Cockrum, 2. Shane Cottle, 3. Chris Windom, 4. Brady Bacon, 5. Kyle Robbins, 6. Jason McDougal, 7. Carmen Perigo Jr., 8. Justin Grant, 9. Robert Ballou, 10. Mike Haggenbottom, 11. Eric Gordon, 12. Casey Buckman, 13. Austin Nemire, 14. Bryan Gossell, 15. Travis Welpott, 16. Matt Goodnight, 17. Matt Westfall, 18. David Byrne, 19. Kyle Cummins, 20. Logan Seavey, 21. Charles Davis Jr., 22. Dave Berkheimer

**DNS:** Jake Swanson, Eric Gordon, CJ Leary, Chase Johnson