Anthony Macri Wins 20K Outlaws Morgan Cup At Williams Grove

Dillsburg pilot remains undefeated at oval this season

Mechanicsburg –Anthony Macri remains undefeated at Williams Grove Speedway in 2025 after he trumped the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars in Saturday's Morgan Cup battle between the outlaws stars and the drivers of the Pennsylvania Posse.

The outlaws victory was the first of Macri's career at Williams Grove however it was his fourth overall with the circuit.

The Dillsburg pilot pocketed a total of \$20,000 for his run to victory in the 30-lap main.

To get his third win of the season at the track, Macri had to beat polesitter Bill Balog off the blocks at the start of the feature on what was by far Balog's best performance at the track to date.

But Balog's good night came to an abrupt halt on the second lap when he spun out of second in the second turn and found himself facing the oncoming field.

The restart found perennial outlaws series champion Donny Schatz chasing Macri for the lead while Danny Dietrich made low side jabs at Schatz for second.

Macri pulled away on open track and had a near two-second lead on the fifth circuit but when traffic entered the picture with nine away the tables turned.

The leader appeared hesitant in traffic early as he navigated putting cars a lap down and Schatz pounced for control, crossing the stripe as the leader of lap 10.

However the notice served by Schatz seemed to put Macri's elbows up or stir him awake as the first turn found Macri blasting to Schatz's outside in a rally to reclaim the top spot.

And reclaim it he did with an outside swoop and then a dive down in front of Schatz onto the backchute.

Once back at the point Macri drove a smart race through traffic to maintain control the rest of the distance

A tremendous battle for fourth, fifth and sixth place unfolded between Carson Macedo, David Gravel and Logan Schuchart on laps 12, 13 and 14 as the trio battled wildly for position before disaster struck in the fourth corner.

When the lapped car of TJ Stutts spun in front of the battle, Macedo piled into his machine and Schuchart walloped Macedo's sideways and airborne car, doing great damage to both machines.

Neither driver was able to return to action, proving costly in the season-long outlaws points battle.

The restart one lap shy of the halfway point saw both Gravel and Justin Whittall get by Dietrich as the pair set sights on runner-up Schatz.

Macri was again handling traffic with seven laps to go when Gravel took second and threatened to run down the leader

However Macri's prowess in choosing the right lanes to continue lapping cars while maintaining his momentum proved too much for Gravel to overcome as the Connecticut driver crossed the line 1.785 seconds behind at the finish.

Dietrich rebounded for third followed by Schatz and Whittall.

Sixth through 10th went to Buddy Kofoid, Freddie Rahmer, Sheldon Haudenschild, Gio Scelzi and Troy Wagaman Jr.

Macri's win in the Morgan Cup has now tied the event at seven wins for each side in the battle between the outlaws and the posse.

It was the second win in a row by a Pennsylvania Posse driver in Morgan Cup action.

Heats went to Schuchart, Gravel, Macri and Whittall.

Daryn Pittman won the C Main while Ashton Torgerson claimed the B Main and Balog won the dash to earn the pole for the feature.

Logan Schuchart set overall fast time over the 43 car field with a lap of 16.515 seconds.

The event at Williams Grove on May 10 was the 239th contested by the World of Outlaws at the oval, tying the track with Eldora Speedway for the track that has held the most series events in circuit history.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval's official website located at <u>www.williamsgrove.com</u> and by following the track on X, Facebook and Instagram.

Feature Finish 5/10/25

410 sprint cars, 30 laps: 1. Anthony Macri, 2. David Gravel, 3. Danny Dietrich, 4. Donny Schatz, 5. Justin Whittall, 6. Michael Kofoid, 7. Freddie Rahmer, 8. Sheldon Haudenschild, 9. Gio Scelzi, 10. Troy Wagaman Jr., 11. Chase Dietz, 12. Zach Hampton, 13. Lance Dewease, 14. Daryn Pittman, 15. Conner Morrell, 16. Brock Zearfoss, 17. Lucas Wolfe, 18. Garet Williamson, 19. Ashton Torgerson, 20. Chad Trout, 21. Chris Windom, 22. Bill Balog, 23. Brady Bacon, 24. Carson Macedo, 25. Logan Schuchart, 26. TJ Stutts

DNQ: Cole Macedo, Cameron Smith, Derek Hauck, Austin Bishop, Hunter Schuerenberg, Zane DeVault, Kody Hartlaub, Jeff Halligan, Skylar Gee, Ryan Taylor, Tyler Ross, Joey Amantea, Ryan Newton, Preston Lattomus, Steve Buckwalter, Dave Grube, Parker Price Miller